The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 32: Taxation and Finance

Chapter 17: FEES AND COSTS

Sub-Chapter 09: Vital Registration

32 V.S.A. § 1715. Vital records search



§ 1715. Vital records search

(a) Upon payment of a $10.00 fee, the Commissioner of Health or the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration shall provide certified copies of vital records or shall ascertain and certify what the vital records available to the Commissioner and the Vermont State Archivist show, except that the Commissioner and the Vermont State Archivist shall not copy the word "illegitimate" from any birth certificate furnished. The fee for the search of the vital records is $3.00 which is credited toward the fee for the first certified copy based upon the search.

(b) Fees collected under this section shall be credited to special funds established and managed pursuant to subchapter 5 of chapter 7 of this title, and shall be available to the charging departments to offset the costs of providing those services. (Added 1967, No. 278 (Adj. Sess.), § 26; amended 1975, No. 8, § 2; 1979, No. 56, § 11; 1975, No. 142 (Adj. Sess.), § 20; 1985, No. 224 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 1995, No. 148 (Adj. Sess.), § 4(c)(2), eff. May 6, 1996; 1997, No. 59, § 8, eff. June 30, 1997; 2001, No. 143 (Adj. Sess.), § 63, eff. June 21, 2002; 2003, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), § 9a; 2007, No. 76, § 21; 2007, No. 153 (Adj. Sess.), § 27; 2011, No. 3, § 93, eff. Feb. 17, 2011.)