Title 26: Professions and Occupations
Chapter 28: NURSING
Sub-Chapter 01: Registered And Licensed Practical Nursing
26 V.S.A. § 1576. Registered nurse and practical nurse registration and licensure
§ 1576. Registered nurse and practical nurse registration and licensure
(a) Qualifications of applicants. An applicant for registration and a license to practice registered or practical nursing shall submit to the Board evidence deemed satisfactory to it that the applicant has completed all requirements in an approved nursing education program preparing individuals for the practice of either registered or practical nursing.
(b) Registration and licensure by examination.
(1) The applicant shall be required to pass an examination in such subjects as the Board considers necessary to determine the ability of the applicant to practice registered or practical nursing.
(2) Upon passing the required examination, the Board shall register and issue to the applicant a current license to practice as a registered nurse (R.N.) or a licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.).
(3) The Board shall hold at least one examination annually for registered nurse candidates and one for practical nurse candidates at such place and at such time as the Board shall determine.
(4) Any qualified applicant shall be entitled to reexaminations.
(c) Registration and licensure by endorsement. The Board shall register and issue a current license to practice registered or practical nursing to an applicant who has been duly licensed by examination as a registered nurse or a practical nurse under the laws of another state, territory, or foreign country if the applicant meets the qualifications required in this State and has previously achieved passing scores on the licensing examination required in this State or its equivalent as determined by the Board, and has met active practice requirements established by the Board by rule.
(d) Temporary licenses. The Board may issue a temporary license to practice nursing for a period not to exceed 90 days to a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse currently licensed in another jurisdiction of the United States and who has applied for licensure by endorsement in accordance with the rules of the Board.
(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section and any other provision of law, a nurse who holds an unrestricted license in all jurisdictions in which the nurse is currently licensed, who certifies to the Vermont Board of Nursing that he or she will limit his or her practice in Vermont to providing pro bono services at a free or reduced fee clinic in Vermont and who meets the criteria of the Board, shall be licensed by the Board within 60 days of the licensee's certification without further examination, interview, fee, or any other requirement for Board licensure. The nurse shall file with the Board, on forms provided by the Board and based on criteria developed by the Board, information on nursing qualifications, professional discipline, criminal record, malpractice claims, or any other such information as the Board may require. A license granted under this subsection shall authorize the licensee to practice nursing on a voluntary basis in Vermont. (Added 1979, No. 192 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1993, No. 201 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2001, No. 151 (Adj. Sess.), § 19c, eff. June 27, 2002; 2013, No. 27, § 17.)