The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 20: Internal Security and Public Safety

Chapter 151: VERMONT CRIMINAL JUSTICE TRAINING COUNCIL

20 V.S.A. § 2358. Minimum training standards



§ 2358. Minimum training standards

(a) Unless waived by the Council under standards adopted by rule, and notwithstanding any statute or charter to the contrary, no person shall exercise law enforcement authority:

(1) as a part-time law enforcement officer without completing a basic training course within a time prescribed by rule of the Council; or

(2) as a full-time law enforcement officer without either:

(A) completing a basic training course in the time and manner prescribed by the Council; or

(B) having received, before July 1, 1968, permanent full-time appointment as a law enforcement officer, and completing a basic training course before July 1, 1982.

(3) as a full or part-time law enforcement officer without completing annual in-service training requirements as prescribed by the Council.

(b) All programs required by this section shall be approved by the Council. Completion of a program shall be established by a certificate to that effect signed by the Executive Director of the Council.

(c) As used in this section:

(1) "Law enforcement officer" means a member of the Department of Public Safety who exercises law enforcement powers, a member of the State police, a capitol police officer, a municipal police officer, a constable who exercises law enforcement powers, a motor vehicle inspector, an employee of the Department of Liquor Control who exercises law enforcement powers, an investigator employed by the Secretary of State, Board of Medical Practice investigators employed by the Department of Health, Attorney General, or a state's attorney, a fish and game warden, a sheriff, or deputy sheriff who exercises law enforcement powers, or a railroad police officer commissioned pursuant to 5 V.S.A. chapter 68, subchapter 8.

(2) "Full-time law enforcement officer" means a law enforcement officer with duties of a predictable and continuing nature which require more than 32 hours per week and more than 25 weeks per year.

(3) "Part-time law enforcement officer" means a law enforcement officer who is not employed full time.

(d) The council may determine whether a particular position is full-time or part-time.

(e) The criteria for all minimum training standards under this section shall include anti-bias training approved by the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council. (Added 1967, No. 189, § 8, eff. April 17, 1967; amended 1969, No. 282 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 1971, No. 120, § 46(b); 1973, No. 225 (Adj. Sess.), § 7; 1979, No. 57, § 6; 1981, No. 104, § 3; 1981, No. 118 (Adj. Sess.), eff. Feb. 19, 1982; 1987, No. 34, § 3; 1989, No. 297 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2003, No. 60, § 4; 2007, No. 195 (Adj. Sess.), § 8, eff. July 1, 2010; 2011, No. 103 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2011, No. 134 (Adj. Sess.), § 3.)