The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 16: Education

Chapter 37: CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION

Sub-Chapter 05: State Financial Assistance

16 V.S.A. § 1561. Tuition reduction



§ 1561. Tuition reduction

(a) In this section:

(1) "Student" means a Vermont secondary student without a diploma regardless of age and regardless of whether the student is enrolled in a high school in Vermont.

(2) "Full-time equivalent student" means the average of a Vermont school district's three prior years' full-time equivalent enrollment of students in the career technical center.

(b) On behalf of a sending school district within Vermont, a career technical center shall receive from the Education Fund for each full-time equivalent student from the district 87 percent of the base education amount and an equivalent amount shall be subtracted from the amount due to the sending district under section 4011 of this title. The amount sent to the career technical center and subtracted from the sending district shall be considered a revenue and an expenditure of the district and shall be reported as such in appropriate accounts and in the district's annual budget.

(c) Annually, the General Assembly shall appropriate funds to pay for a supplemental assistance grant per full-time equivalent student. The amount of the grant shall be equal to 35 percent of the base education amount for that year.

(d) In any year following a year in which fall semester full-time equivalent enrollment of students at a career technical center increased by 20 percent or more over the previous fall semester, in addition to other aid, the career technical center shall receive an extra supplemental assistance grant equal to two-thirds of the 35 percent of the base education amount for that year, multiplied by the actual full-time equivalent enrollment increase. The next year, if the increase in fall semester full-time equivalent enrollment is less than 20 percent, in addition to other aid, the career technical center shall receive an extra supplemental assistance grant equal to one-third of the 35 percent of the base education amount for the year multiplied by the actual full-time equivalent increase of the previous fall semester. (Added 1983, No. 247 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1987, No. 46, § 3, eff. May 13, 1987; 1987, No. 238 (Adj. Sess.), §§ 10, 10a; 1991, No. 204 (Adj. Sess.), §§ 6, 7; 1997, No. 138 (Adj. Sess.), § 12, eff. July 1, 1999; 2001, No. 63, § 164b; 2003, No. 68, § 18, eff. June 18, 2003; 2003, No. 76 (Adj. Sess.), § 26, eff. Feb. 17, 2004; 2003, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 188; 2005, No. 54, § 12; 2009, No. 44, §§ 18, 19, eff. May 21, 2009; 2013, No. 92 (Adj. Sess.), § 302, eff. Feb. 14, 2014.)