Title 10: Conservation and Development
Chapter 105: LICENSES
Sub-Chapter 001: Generally
10 V.S.A. § 4278. Falconry license
§ 4278. Falconry license
(a) In this section, "raptor" means species of the orders Strigiformes, Falconiformes, and Accipitriformes.
(b)(1) A Vermont resident may obtain, sell, transport, possess, and train raptor species allowable under State and federal laws and regulations for hunting, provided the person has first obtained a State falconry license from the Commissioner. The Commissioner may issue a State falconry license, provided that the applicant:
(A) pays an initial licensing fee of $250.00 for a license valid for three years, or a renewal fee of $50.00 for a license valid for each year thereafter, as appropriate, to the Department;
(B) meets the minimum age and experience requirements for each of apprentice, general, or master falconry licenses;
(C) has completed a supervised examination relating to basic biology, care, and handling of raptors, has correctly answered a minimum of 85 percent of the questions; and
(D) possesses raptor housing facilities and falconry equipment that meet State and federal standards.
(2) The Commissioner shall adopt rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 that will establish requirements for ensuring that holders of falconry licenses will be properly qualified and that the birds will be legally acquired and appropriately cared for. Such rules shall further define required raptor housing facilities and falconry equipment, legal means of taking, lawful species, ages, and numbers of raptors to be taken and possessed, banding requirements, and any other further restrictions on taking and possession.
(c) A holder of a Vermont falconry license or a nonresident who possesses a valid falconry license from another state may use legally held raptors for hunting during an open season provided that the person holds a valid Vermont hunting or combination fishing and hunting license. The Commissioner shall adopt rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 that regulate the taking of game species by use of trained raptors.
(d) The Commissioner may revoke a falconry license and seize raptors held under that license if the Commissioner finds that the licensee:
(1) failed to properly and humanely care for the raptors held under the license;
(2) allowed raptors held under the license to become a public nuisance; or
(3) failed to comply with any of the terms or conditions of the falconry license. (Added 1989, No. 196 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 2013, No. 78, § 10, eff. Jan. 1, 2014.)