The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 3: Executive

Chapter 13: CLASSIFICATION OF STATE PERSONNEL

3 V.S.A. § 316. Records of the department of human resources



§ 331. Temporary employees

(a) The state shall not employ any person in a temporary capacity except in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(b)(1) On request of the appointing authority, the commissioner of human resources may approve, in writing, the creation of a temporary position and the hiring of a person to fill such temporary position only if the position and person are needed:

(A) to meet a seasonal employment need of state government;

(B) to respond to a bona fide emergency;

(C) to fill in for the temporary absence of an existing employee, or a vacancy in an existing position; or

(D) to perform a governmental function that requires only intermittent, sporadic, or ongoing employment that averages less than 20 hours per week during any one calendar year, provided that such employment does not exceed 1,520 hours in any one calendar year.

(2)(A) Except as provided in subdivision (1) of this subsection, the commissioner shall not approve the creation of a temporary position or the hiring of a person to fill such temporary position if the governmental function is ongoing and continuing.

(B) The commissioner shall not approve the creation of a temporary position or the hiring of a person to fill such temporary position if approval is intended to circumvent, or has the effect of circumventing, the policies and purposes of the classified service under this chapter.

(c) The commissioner may authorize the continued employment of a person in a temporary capacity for more than 1,520 hours in any one calendar year if the commissioner determines, in writing, that a bona fide emergency exists for the appointing authority that requires such continued employment.

(d) The commissioner may transfer and convert existing, vacant positions in the executive branch of state government to replace the temporary positions of long-term temporary employees who are performing ongoing and continuing functions of state government for more than an average of 20 hours per week during any one calendar year or for more than 1,520 hours in any one calendar year.

(e) Any party aggrieved by a decision of the commissioner under this section may request that the commissioner reconsider his or her decision. Such party may appeal the commissioner's reconsideration to the Vermont labor relations board pursuant to the rules of the board. Within 90 days of the filing of an appeal, the board shall determine if the commissioner of human resources abused his or her discretion under this section. If the board determines that there has been an abuse of discretion, the board shall remand the decision back to the commissioner and order that corrective action be taken within 90 days of the board's order. The commissioner, in his or her sole discretion, may replace the temporary employee with a permanent position, or eliminate the temporary position and grant reemployment rights if those rights would have been provided to a classified employee under the relevant collective bargaining agreement. (Added 1993, No. 93, § 3; amended 1999, No. 145 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2003, No. 156 (Adj. Sess.), § 15.)