S. 137

An act relating to the ability of the public service board to require that energy conservation services be developed and provided by an entity appointed by the board. Rep. Keenan amendment to recommendation of proposal of amendment offered by the committee on Natural Resources and Energy, as divided, regarding electric energy efficiency program.

Yeas, 121. Nays, 12. Absent, 16. House Journal 5/14/99.

Those who voted in the affirmative are:Those who voted in the negative are:Those absent with leave of the House and not voting are:
Alfano of Calais
Allard of St. Albans Town
Anderson of Woodstock
Angell of Randolph
Aswad of Burlington
Atkins of Winooski
Baker of West Rutland
Barbieri of Wallingford
Barney of Highgate
Blanchard of Essex
Bourdeau of Hyde Park
Brooks of Montpelier
Brown of Walden
Cleland of Northfield
Colvin of Bennington
Crawford of Burke
Cross of Winooski
Dakin of Colchester
Darrow of Newfane
Deen of Westminster
DePoy of Rutland City
Dominick of Starksboro
Doyle of Richmond
Dunne of Hartland
Emmons of Springfield
Flaherty of South Burlington
Flory of Pittsford
Follett of Springfield
Fox of Essex
Freed of Dorset
Fyfe of Newport City
Gervais of Enosburg
Ginevan of Middlebury
Gray of Barre Town
Gretkowski of Burlington
Hathaway of Barton
Heath of Westford
Helm of Castleton
Hoag of Woodford
Holmes of Bethel
Houston of Ferrisburg
Howrigan of Fairfield
Hube of Londonderry
Hudson of Lyndon
Hummel of Underhill
Hyde of Fayston
Jordan of Middlesex
Keenan of St. Albans City
Kehler of Pomfret
Kitzmiller of Montpelier
Koch of Barre Town
Krasnow of Charlotte
Kreitzer of Rutland City
LaBarge of Grand Isle
Lafayette of Burlington
Larocque of Barnet
Larrabee of Danville
Lehman of Hartford
Lippert of Hinesburg
Little of Shelburne
Livingston of Manchester
Mackinnon of Sharon
Mallary of Brookfield
Marron of Stowe
Maslack of Poultney
Masland of Thetford
Mazur of South Burlington
Mazzariello of Rutland City
McGrath of Ferrisburg
McNamara of Burlington
Metzger of Milton
Miller of Shaftsbury
Milne of Washington
Molloy of Arlington
Moore of Rutland City
Mullin of Rutland Town
Neiman of Georgia
Nitka of Ludlow
Nuovo of Middlebury
O'Donnell of Vernon
Osman of Plainfield
Palmer of Pownal
Paquin of Fairfax
Parizo of Essex
Partridge of Windham
Peaslee of Guildhall
Pembroke of Bennington
Perry of Richford
Pike of Mendon
Poirier of Barre City
Pratt of Castleton
Pugh of South Burlington
Rivero of Milton
Robb of Swanton
Schaefer of Colchester
Seibert of Norwich
Severance of Colchester
Sheltra of Derby
Sherman of St. Johnsbury
Smith of New Haven
Smith of Sudbury
Suchmann of Chester
Sullivan of Burlington
Sweaney of Windsor
Sweetser of Essex
Symington of Jericho
Towne of Berlin
Tracy of Burlington
Valsangiacomo of Barre City
Vincent of Waterbury
Vinton of Colchester
Voyer of Morristown
Waite of Pawlet
Weiss of Northfield
Westman of Cambridge
Wheeler of Burlington
Willett of St. Albans City
Winters of Williamstown
Wisell of Bristol
Wood of Brandon
Woodward of Johnson
Bouricius of Burlington
Buckland of Newport Town
Corren of Burlington
Darrow of Dummerston
Hingtgen of Burlington
Postman of Brownington
Quaid of Williston
Randall of Bradford
Richardson of Weathersfield
Starr of Troy
Stevens of Newbury
Zuckerman of Burlington
Bristol of Brattleboro
Carmolli of Rutland City
Clark of St. Johnsbury
Costello of Brattleboro
Deuel of West Rutland
Edwards of Swanton
Johnson of Canaan
Kainen of Hartford
Kinsey of Craftsbury
Krawczyk of Bennington
Milkey of Brattleboro
Morrissey of Bennington
Rusten of Halifax
Schiavone of Shelburne
Steele of Waterbury
Young of Orwell
Rep. Corren of Burlington explained his vote as follows:

"Mr. Speaker: I have heard in debate that members are willing to rely on reassurances from the public service department and a recent past board member that those publicly-owned utilities that have exemplary performance in energy efficiency will be afforded the opportunity to continue to provide their owner-customers with such services, and will not be double-charged by the state for such services. While I would have preferred to clarify such procedures in statute, I look forward to state regulators following through on their commitments."

Rep. Sullivan of Burlington explained her vote as follows:

"Mr. Speaker: I voted with the Commerce committee because I believe the two utilities that have been doing an exemplary job regarding energy efficiency will, if they present good plans to the board, be allowed to continue to do their programs. I also believe that 209(E)(5) prevents double charging because coordinated program delivery would certainly prevent a duplicative funding structure."