Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

Senate Chamber

Montpelier, Vermont

Senate Resolution

     By Senators Campbell, McCormack, Nitka, Shumlin, White, Ayer, Carris, Kitchel and Mullin,

     S.R. 29.  Senate resolution relating to the Connecticut River Valley Flood Control Commission.

Whereas, the state of Vermont entered into the Connecticut River Flood Control Compact along with the states of New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Connecticut on September 8, 1953, and

Whereas, the Connecticut River Valley Flood Control Commission was created by the compact to provide a joint or common agency through which the signatory states may more effectively cooperate in accomplishing the objective of flood control and water resource utilization in the basin of the Connecticut River and its tributaries, and

Whereas, central to the compact is the agreement of the down-river states of Connecticut and Massachusetts to reimburse the up-river states of Vermont and New Hampshire for the amount of taxes lost to their political subdivisions by reason of federal ownership of lands, rights and other property taken for the flood control dams, facilities and reservoirs in New Hampshire and Vermont, and

Whereas, the compact provides that the commission determine each year the amount of the tax loss to be reimbursed based on a formula employing the tax rate then current in the municipality applied to the assessed value of the property which may include revaluation resulting from any general revaluation of the property in the municipalities in which a flood control dam or reservoir or portion thereof is located, and

Whereas, while the compact provides for an annual determination of the amount of tax loss, it appears that no annual determination has been made in the 25 years since the Commission agreed to “freeze” the tax loss amounts in 1982, and

Whereas, while the valuation of the lands in the up-river states in which the flood control facilities, dams and reservoirs are located has increased enormously in the past quarter century, and the value of the property protected from flood damage in the down-river states has increased even more, it appears that the amount of tax loss payments made to municipalities in Vermont and New Hampshire has not been adjusted accordingly as called for by the compact, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate:

That the Connecticut River Valley Flood Control Commission is requested to review the rationale and authority for freezing the amount of tax loss payments since 1982, determine the amount of tax loss payments that would be due based upon current assessments and revaluation of the subject property, and report its findings, determinations and recommendations to the Vermont General Assembly, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the Connecticut River Valley Flood Control Commission in Greenfield, Massachusetts, to the selectboards of the municipalities in Vermont affected by the compact - including Norwich, Thetford, Hartland, Hartford, Springfield, Weathersfield, Perkinsville, Jamaica, Townshend and Londonderry - and to the Vermont Congressional delegation.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont