Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

Senate Chamber

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent Senate Resolution

   By Senators Condos, Flanagan, Lyons, Miller, Racine and Snelling,

     By Representatives Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Hunt of Essex, Jerman of Essex and Myers of Essex,

     S.C.R. 15.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship girls' ice hockey team.

Whereas, the 2006–2007 Essex High School Hornets girls’ ice hockey team impressed its fans with an exciting caliber of play, and

Whereas, after finishing the regular season’s competition, the Hornets earned the third seed in the Division I championship tournament, and

Whereas, after proving their potential in each successive round of competition, the Essex skaters traveled to the Kreitzberg Arena at Norwich University to face-off against the legendary BFA St. Albans Comets, the six‑time Division I champions, and

Whereas, the fame and reputation that is associated with the Comets’ girls ice hockey program did not deter the Hornets’ drive to become the new Division I title holders and conclude BFA St. Albans six-season hold on the divisional title, and

Whereas, after the two teams played to a scoreless first period tie, the evening’s first goal was scored when the Hornets’ Chelsea Owen, with an assist from teammate Brittany Peduzzi, put Essex ahead 1–0, and

Whereas, the point margin between the two schools proved temporary as just over a minute later, Essex’s Jorie Farnsworth directed the puck to Kayla Gibbons for a backhander goal, and

Whereas, although the Comets rebounded when they sent the puck into the net with 6:36 remaining to play in the final period, Essex’s Ashley McLaren put any hopes of victory beyond reach for BFA St. Albans with a power play goal approximately four minutes later, and

Whereas, Essex’s 3–1 Division I championship victory over BFA St. Albans and overall 18–5 season record resulted from the work of each Hornet player, including Emily Doulliard, Jessica Turner, Cassi Miller, Jorie Farnsworth, Chelsea Farnham, Keela Gendron, Chelsea Normand, Lindsay Norris, Carrie Smallwood, Julie Pearl, Sarah Smallwood, Brittany Peduzzi, Julia Jenko, Chelsea Owen, Lauren Cabanaw, Jessica Desorcie, Kayla Gibbons, Hannah Fulchino, Hilary Keithcart, Ashley McLaren and Ricci Celia, and

Whereas, coach John Maddalena and assistant coaches Kim Balserus and Brent Farnham deserve credit for their roles in developing this superb hockey team, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship girls’ ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to John Maddalena at Essex High School.



Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont