Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

Senate Chamber

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent Senate Resolution

By Senators Mullin, Carris and Maynard,

By Representatives Andrews of Rutland City, Courcelle of Rutland City, Flory of Pittsford, Howard of Rutland City, McCormack of Rutland City, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Fallar of Tinmouth and Malcolm of Pawlet,

S.C.R. 12.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Rutland High School Raiders Division I championship football team.

Whereas, the Rutland High School Raiders brought their tradition of football prowess to the 2006 Division I championship game against the Middlebury Union High School Tigers, and

Whereas, following a scoreless first quarter, early in the second period, alert Raider Rob Dorion intercepted a Middlebury option at Rutland’s 9-yard line, starting an offensive drive resulting in the game’s first touchdown, and

Whereas, following a successful point after play, the Raiders held a 7-0 lead that the Tigers tied immediately thereafter, demonstrating that the championship would not be won without much effort and skill, and

Whereas, recognizing the need to break the tie post-haste, the Rutland quarterback Sam Reynolds teamed with receiver Rob Dorion for a quick 62‑yard drive, enabling Rutland to regain the lead 13-7 with 1:17 remaining in the first half, and

Whereas, when the second half commenced, the Tigers showed they could also intercept an opponent’s pass to initiate a successful touchdown drive and successful point after play, and

Whereas, now trailing 14-13, Rutland responded with a 64-yard drive, scoring its third touchdown and then a successful two-point conversion and took a 21-14 lead, and

Whereas, with just 40 seconds remaining before the final whistle, Rutland’s Matt Littler’s deceptively simple one-yard scoring run capped the Raider victory at 27-14, and

Whereas, this convincing win represented Rutland’s third Division I football title in the last three years and the seventh for Coach Mike Norman over the last 13 seasons, and

Whereas, Raiders Jon Bassett, Jeff Perry, Rob Dorion, Josh Comstock, Sam Reynolds, Zak Johnson, Bijan Razzaghi, Matt Thayer, Zak Aquistapace, Brendan Lafaso, Mike Tobin, Justin McCormack, Kyle Shum, Ryan Corey, Wes Landon, Ron Crosby, Akeem Evans, Matt Littler, Tom Pepe, Connor Beerworth, Derrick Webb, Trevor Olson, Bob Hughes, Kyle Piontek, John Barone, Eric Denardo, Matt Preedom, Dan Guyette, Jake Kirk-Elkin, Ryan Garrow, Casey Battles, Matt Hughes, Josh Hadley, Matt Layden, Matt Therriault, Matt Cody, Joe Orvis, Matt Fitzsimmons, Logan Kresconko, Chris Kiernan, Ethan Peterson, Justin Stewart, Jay Smalley, Ryan Kelly, Ryan Minogue and Andrew Baker each played skillfully, and

Whereas, head coach Michael Norman and his coaching staff of Micky Caliguiri, Jake Eaton, Jerry Gorruso, Tom Jacques, Jon Wallett, Eric Finn and Steve Wolf deserve much of the credit for the team’s success, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Rutland High School Raiders’ Division I championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Michael Norman at Rutland High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont