Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 307

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008 Essex High School  We the People . . . The Citizen and the Constitution state championship class

Offered by:  Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Hunt of Essex and Jerman of Essex

Whereas, the National Center for Civic Education, with funding from the U.S. Department of Education, has established the We the People . . . The Citizen and the Constitution, an instructional course designed to provide students a greater insight into the U.S. Constitution, and

Whereas, in Vermont, the Vermont Bar Association serves as the local sponsoring organization, and

Whereas, the course begins with summer readings focusing on the following constitutional inquiries:  (1) What are the philosophical and historical foundations of the American political system?  (2) How did the framers create the constitution?  (3) How did the values and principles embodied in the constitution shape American institutions and practices?  (4) How have the protections of the Bill of Rights been developed and expanded?  (5) What rights does the Bill of Rights protect? and  (6) What are the roles of the citizens in American democracy?, and

Whereas, during the fall, the course incorporates the constitutional curriculum and critical thinking, problem solving, and cooperative learning skills, and

Whereas, on January 28, 2008, the Vermont-based participating classes gathered at the state house to engage in a day-long series of mock congressional hearings at which the students presented testimony before panels of constitutional experts who queried the youngsters thoroughly, and

Whereas, the panels of judges awarded the Vermont state championship to the class from Essex High School whose members are Graham Ahokas, Nicola Anderson, Susanna Battig, William Begley, Bryan Dickinson, Joseph Finch, Loren Fulton, Alan He, Chelsea Henderson, Christian Konczal, Allison LaCroix, Sylvana Lane, Michael Lawrence, Leah Marvin-Riley, Joseph McClintock, Christopher McNally-Anderson, Gwen Pastel, Heidi Rickes, Libby Rose, Mathew Saladin, Hayley Schumacher, and Abigail Wood, and their teacher, Tim Root, who has been an invaluable academic mentor, and

Whereas, these Essex High School students will be traveling to Washington, D.C. to compete in the 2008 national finals, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the general assembly congratulates the 2008 Essex High School We the People . . . The Citizen and the Constitution state championship class, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Tim Root at Essex High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont