Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 287

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Stowe High School Raiders 2007 Division III championship soccer team

Offered by:  Representative Scheuermann of Stowe

Whereas, Stowe High School’s boys’ soccer teams, despite the best efforts of their talented players and coaches, had waited over 30 years, since 1974, to clinch a state championship, and

Whereas, the 2007 roster featured a group of young men who exhibited great talent on the soccer field and a spirited determination to win, and

Whereas, the Raiders’ mastery of soccer’s essential skills enabled them to execute game-winning plays all season, earning them the respect of their competitors and a berth in the 2007 Division III boys’ soccer championship against their Lamoille County rivals, the People’s Academy Wolves, and

Whereas, the championship game played in Middlebury proved a test of endurance, patience, and perseverance for the Raiders, and

Whereas, People’s Academy scored the first two goals, and the prospects for a Stowe win were not hopeful until well into the second half, when a misconduct penalty was assessed against the Wolves, and

Whereas, Raider Greg Lachtrupp used the ensuing penalty kick opportunity to great advantage, scoring Stowe’s opening goal, and

Whereas, with only 1:04 remaining in regulation playing time, Stowe’s Josh Boguslofski sent the ball into the goalie’s box, and although the Wolves’ goalie bounced it out onto the field before a Raider goal was scored, Greg Lachtrupp kicked the ball right back into the goal zone and tied the game, and

Whereas, after a scoreless first overtime period, Coleman Gay wasted little time in the second when he scored Stowe’s exciting winning goal, giving the Raiders’ a 2–1 victory, the 2007 Division III boys’ soccer championship, and a final season’s record of 14–3–1, and

Whereas, every Raider, including Jake Schwartz, Alex Grosvenor, Maks Gorham, Ben Rauch, Jonathon Smith, Bryan Davis, Coleman Gay, Keith Bennet, Connor Buzzell, Nathaniel Horton, Clinton Carrick, Patrick Saylor, Brent Ely, Jeremy Lachtrupp, Thomas Lipski, Josh Boguslofski, Greg Lachtrupp, Chris Saylor, Hanson Johnson, and John Black, contributed to the team’s successful and historic 2007 season, and

Whereas, coach Jamie Birmingham and assistant coach Paul Lawson provided the players with valuable technical expertise and wise guidance, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Stowe High School Raiders 2007 Division III championship soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jamie Birmingham at Stowe High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont