Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 250

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008 Proctor High School Phantoms on winning their school’s third consecutive Division IV boys’ basketball championship

Offered by:  Representatives Potter of Clarendon, Baker of West Rutland, Acinapura of Brandon, Andrews of Rutland City, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Courcelle of Rutland City, Donaghy of Poultney, Fallar of Tinmouth, Flory of Pittsford, Haas of Rochester, Helm of Castleton, Howard of Rutland City, Komline of Dorset, Malcolm of Pawlet, McCormack of Rutland City, McNeil of Rutland Town and Stevens of Shoreham

Whereas, having lost only a single game during the 2007‑2008 basketball campaign and secure in the knowledge that they had won the Division IV title in each of the prior two seasons, the top-seeded Proctor High School Phantoms entered the 2008 championship contest against the second-seeded Danville High School Indians confident they could repeat the triumphs of recent past seasons, and

Whereas, the closeness of the game reminded the Phantoms that a championship victory requires hard work and dedication, and

Whereas, at the opening quarter’s conclusion, Proctor maintained a narrow four-point margin and 14–10 lead, and despite a 10-point Phantom advantage of 22–12 at the 4:43 mark of the second period, when the halftime break arrived, the Indians had narrowed the gap back to four points, with Proctor still ahead 25–21, and

Whereas, the Phantoms’ tall pair of six-foot-five-inch center Jordan Snow and six-foot-four-inch guard Curtis Robinson contributed 11 of Proctor’s 17 third‑quarter points, and with a single period left, the score stood at 42–35 in the defending champions’ favor, and

Whereas, the fourth quarter tested the Phantoms as no prior period had as the Indians spent the period’s opening minutes on an offensive drive that tied the game at 42-all, but Jordan Snow hit a foul shot with 3:20 remaining in the quarter, giving Proctor a one-point lead that his team increased to six before the game ended with a Proctor victory of 50–44 and the Phantoms’ third consecutive Division IV championship, the school’s fifth basketball crown since the turn of the century and its 13th overall, and

Whereas, this year’s Phantom squad, consisting of Adam Falco, Brennan Watkins, Calvin Knowles, Casey Blaisdell, Chad Thornton, Curtis Robinson, Jacob Tanner, Jordan Snow, Josh Taranovich, Kyle McQuarrie, Kyle Palmer, Matt Dobart, Ryan Connell, and Zach Currier, displayed great teamwork that made a difference, and

Whereas, coach Dick Wilcox and assistant coach Brian Finnigan provided critical direction to the team all season and especially during the tense fourth quarter, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2008 Proctor High School Phantoms on winning their school’s third consecutive Division IV boys’ basketball championship, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Dick Wilcox at Proctor High School.




Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont