Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 245

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008 Vergennes Union High School Commodores Division II cheerleading champions

Offered by:  Representatives Clark of Vergennes and Oxholm of Vergennes

Offered by:  Senators Ayer and Giard

Whereas, as the defending Division II cheerleading champions, the Vergennes Union High School Commodores had a reputation of excellence among the other schools within their division, and

Whereas, because only one-third of last year’s championship squad returned for the 2007–2008 season, the team needed to rebuild its cheerleading knowledge and skill to the high level at which it finished in 2007, and

Whereas, despite this challenge, the Commodores dedicated many hours to shaping an exciting championship competition performance, consisting of innovative cheers and difficult presentation maneuvers, and

Whereas, when the Commodores appeared at the state championship, held at the Champlain Valley Exposition in Essex, the Vergennes cheerleaders were ready to defend their title, and they retained their state title with a 28‑point margin, 161–133, over their nearest Division II competitor, U-32 High School, and

Whereas, this season’s cheerleading Commodores included Jenny Johnson, Belinda Hall, Lily Maxham, Jacky Schoonmaker, Katee Ingram, Dana O’Brien, Anna Hamer, Aaron Clodgo, Michelle Stark, April Karzmarzcyk, Katie Viau, Jessica Laughlin, Jenny Cunningham, Nichole Hunter, and Shelby Sheehan, and

Whereas, coach Debra Hill and assistant coach Dani Hausler were superb teachers and team mentors, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2008 Vergennes Union High School Commodores Division II cheerleading champions.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont