Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 242

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Vermont Ice Storm on winning the 2007 Empire Football League championship and being named the 2007 American Football Association Triple-A national champions

Offered by:  Representatives Myers of Essex, Brennan of Colchester, Condon of Colchester, McCullough of Williston, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Spengler of Colchester and Zenie of Colchester

Whereas, from 2001 to 2005, the Vermont Ice Storm played in the New England Football League; for the first year in the A classification, the lowest in semiprofessional football, and beginning in 2002, at the more-demanding AA level, and

Whereas, during these years, the Vermont Ice Storm always concluded the regular season with a winning percentage, won the North Atlantic Conference championship in 2002, and head coach Doug Perez won coach of the year honors in 2001, 2002, and 2004, and

Whereas, the Vermont Ice Storm’s ambition to enter the highest semiprofessional football classification, AAA, was realized in 2006 when the team moved up to the AAA Empire Football League, and promptly posted an 8–2 record that fall, and once again, coach Perez was named coach of the year, and

Whereas, in 2007, the Vermont Ice Storm compiled a perfect regular season record of 10–0 in Empire League competition before proceeding into the league playoff round where the team’s triumphant journey continued, and

Whereas, in the decisive 2007 Empire Football League championship contest, the Vermont Ice Storm played an exciting and challenging four quarters on the gridiron and emerged victorious with a 9–8 win over their opponents, the Watertown (New York) Red and Black, no less than the oldest semiprofessional football team in the United States, and

Whereas, the Vermont Ice Storm’s undefeated regular and post-season records prompted the American Football Association (AFA), of which the Empire Football League is a member, to name the team as the 2007 AFA Triple-A national champions, and as such, the names of the Vermont Ice Storm’s players and coaches will be engraved on the Arthur S. Arkush Memorial Cup, and

Whereas, the Vermont Ice Storm earned a No. 2 national AAA ranking, and despite a 24–14 loss to the Detroit Black Ravens at the U.S.A. Bowl (the AAA national football championship game) at McArthur Stadium in Hollywood, Florida on January 19, 2008, the team has won its place in the history of semiprofessional football in the United States, and

Whereas, the amazing players and coaching staff, including head coach Douglas “Doc” Perez, assistant head coach and offensive coordinator Scott Aguglia, special teams coordinator and running backs coach Mike LaBarre, offensive line coach Jeff Miller, defensive backs coach Drew Gordon, receiver coach Troy Canada, linebacker coach Dave Baldwin, and defensive backs‑linebacker coach Donny LaFleur can each take credit for the historic 2007 season, and

Whereas, the team is also to be commended for its community public services activities, including the Burlington Boys and Girls Club, the Committee on Temporary Shelter (COTS), and the Special Olympics, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Vermont Ice Storm on winning the 2007 Empire Football League championship and being named the 2007 American Football Association Triple-A national champions, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Robert Sinkewicz in Essex Junction.



Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont