Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 238

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Missisquoi Valley Union High School Thunderbirds 2008 Division II girls’ ice hockey championship team

Offered by:  Representatives LaVoie of Swanton, Consejo of Sheldon, McAllister of Highgate, Allard of St. Albans Town, Branagan of Georgia, Fitzgerald of St. Albans City, Gervais of Enosburg, Gilbert of Fairfax, Howrigan of Fairfield, Keenan of St. Albans City and Perry of Richford

Offered by:  Senators Collins and Kittell

Whereas, until 2008, a winter sports’ championship title had eluded Missisquoi Valley Union High School (MVUHS), although in 2007, the school’s girls’ ice hockey team advanced to the Division II final, losing to the Burr and Burton Academy Bulldogs 2–0, and

Whereas, in 2008, the MVUHS girls’ hockey Thunderbirds took their impressive 20–2 record and first-seed playoff ranking into the Division II championship at Norwich University’s Kreitzberg Arena against the same opponent, and

Whereas, despite a quick 2–0 lead, the Bulldogs failed to score during the game’s final two periods while the Thunderbirds began a memorial five-point offensive streak that will be recorded in the annals of MVUHS athletics, and

Whereas, freshman Emily Ledoux scored the Thunderbirds’ first goal with 12:20 minutes left in the second period, and just a minute later, teammate Erin McDonald tied the game at 2–all, and

Whereas, Thunderbird Riley Fontaine sent the puck into the net twice, once with 6:15 remaining in the second period and again, with an assist from Rachel Remillard, just 11 seconds before the middle period of play concluded, and

Whereas, to cap off this momentous occasion, Norma Fleming scored a fifth MVUHS goal with less than 19 seconds to play in the third period, enabling the Thunderbirds to skate off the ice with a memorable 5–2 win and the 2008 Division II championship title, and

Whereas, the amazing 2007–2008 roster of MVUHS ice hockey players includes Rachel Rainville, Norma Fleming, Abby Coon, Grace Metayer, Lyette Viens, Emily Gregoire, Emily Wright, Casey Loiselle, Nyoka Bertrand, Ghislaine Lykens, Debbie Brosseau, Rachel Remillard, Adrienne Fleming, Erin McDonald, Riley Fontaine, and Emily Ledoux, and

Whereas, varsity coach Matthew Laroche, and assistant coaches Michael Gagne and Wynn Paradee headed the team in the right direction, and team mangers Lacey Dufresne and Melissa Godin were most supportive all season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Missisquoi Valley Union High School Thunderbirds 2008 Division II girls’ ice hockey championship team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Matthew Laroche at Missisquoi Valley Union High School.





Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont