Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 203

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Poultney High School Blue Devils Division III championship football team

Offered by:  Representative Donaghy of Poultney

Whereas, the 2007 Division III football championship game featured two powerful contenders, the 2nd-seeded Poultney High School Blue Devils and the undefeated top-seeded Windsor High School Yellow Jackets, and

Whereas, the game was special for veteran head coach Dave Capman, a onetime Blue Devil player, because for 19 seasons, despite winning small school superbowls, the team was ineligible for post-season competition because it competed in a New York state league, and

Whereas, perseverance and hope were the key words for the Poultney fans whose Blue Devils trailed 16–0 until, with 5:46 remaining in the first half, Kurt Hewes threw a 21-yard touchdown pass to freshman John Fairbanks, and although a successful point after kick followed, Windsor was still left on top 16–7 at halftime, and

Whereas, with 6:41 left in the third period, Blue Devil Ryan Davenport completed a 15-yard touchdown run to narrow Poultney’s deficit to 16–13, but the Yellow Jackets quickly responded with another 6 points, giving Windsor a 22–13 advantage as the fourth quarter began, and

Whereas, recognizing the need for fast action, the Blue Devils narrowed the Yellow Jackets’ lead to 22–20 with 7:38 remaining to play, and then with only 3:48 until the final whistle, Poultney unceremoniously relieved Windsor of the ball, and the Blue Devils started a sequence of offensive plays, resulting in Poultney assuming a new 27–20 lead, and

Whereas, very late in the final quarter, Poultney extinguished a near certain Windsor touchdown pass, and two plays later, with only 28 seconds on the clock, John Fairbanks recovered the suddenly free ball and raced down the field for an 83-yard touchdown run, giving Poultney, including its 17 thrilled senior players, an unimaginably exciting 33–27 win and the 2007 Division III state championship, and

Whereas, Blue Devils Michael Barker, Chris Coffinger, Michael Crandall, Ryan Davenport, Caleb Haskins, Kurt Hewes, Peter Jones, David Lewis, Nate Loomis, Kurtis Petty, Tim Prior, Ricky Ross, Robert Scott, Joey Simons, Matt Smith, Owen Teetor, James VanGuilder, Tyler Austin, Ethan Bruce, Jason Fox, Phil Hawthorne, Derik Kerber, Jordan Pauquette, Dyllan Winters, Seth Conway, Benjamin Corey, Justin Davenport, Chad Eary, Richard Ferguson, Tyler Mason, Johnny Olsen, Aaron Snook, Skyler Staples, Wayne Thornton, Scott Williams, Andrew Cook, Bryan Crandall, John Fairbanks, Matt Jedlick, Brendan Miller, and Nick Prior will long remember this grid iron season as will head coach David Capman and assistant coaches Chris Capman, David Hughes, Doug O’Donnell, Bob Scott, Mike Kelley, and Jim Oakman, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Poultney High School Blue Devils Division III championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to David Capman at Poultney High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont