Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 188

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Harwood Union High School Highlanders Division II championship boys’ soccer team

Offered by:  Representatives Minter of Waterbury, Dostis of Waterbury, Hosford of Waitsfield, Grad of Moretown and Donahue of Northfield

Offered by:  Senators Cummings, Doyle, and Scott

Whereas, in two decades of play, the Harwood Union High School Highlanders boys’ soccer team had never brought a state title home to its Duxbury campus, and

Whereas, under head coach Don Haddox and assistant coach Mark Ewald’s direction, the 2007 Highlanders played with the team’s best interest and not individual glory as the primary objective, and

Whereas, the Highlanders proved tough opponents during the playoffs, allowing their opponents only a single goal and earning a spot in the Division II championship on November 3rd in Fair Haven against Mill River High School, and

Whereas, the Highlanders never displayed any sign of unease while competing against an opponent that brought a 2007 16-1 season record into the championship game, and

Whereas, a scoreless tie was broken 26 minutes after play commenced when Harwood’s Steve Griffith delivered a 35-yard volley into the net which the Mill River goalkeeper ejected but fellow Highlander Neal Smeltzer’s agile footwork sent the ball back for the game’s opening goal, and

Whereas, the lead was doubled to 2-0 in the second half when Harwood ‘s Chad Marino forwarded an Eric Mackey throw-in shot into the corner of the goal zone, and

Whereas, although no further goals were scored, Harwood remained alert for the balance of the game and emerged triumphant with its first boys’ soccer championship title, and

Whereas, all the boys associated with this historic Harwood soccer season, including Mike Pavlovich, Angelo Festa, Joe Yalicki, Taylor Jones, Mike Riccardi, Steve Griffith, Greg Mehuron, Neil Smeltzer, Sam Hewitt, Luke Dollmeyer, Chad Marino, Wilson Pierce, Peter Moore, Mike Eid, Noah Goss-Woliner, Billy Ronci, Stephen LaRock, Eli Holden, Paul Weston, Steve Wilson, Chad Koenig, Josh Fisher, Eric Mackey, Will Hoffman, Beck Sinclair, Thomas Jacobs Moore, Sam Siegel, and Ben Harmon, are to be commended, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Harwood Union High School Highlanders Division II championship boys’ soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Don Haddox at Harwood Union High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont