Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 177

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Woodstock Union High School Lady Wasps Division II championship field hockey team

Offered by:  Representative Clarkson of Woodstock

Offered by:  Senators Campbell, McCormack and Nitka

Whereas, Woodstock Union High School’s talented 2007 Division II field hockey team never wavered from its slogan “In It To Win It,” and

Whereas, in the Division II semifinal playoff game, Woodstock topped Otter Valley 2–1 in a come-from-behind victory that featured the team moving the ball from one end of the field to the other in fewer than 10 seconds, and it scored the winning goal with just one second remaining before halftime, and

Whereas, the championship contest, played at the University of Vermont’s Moulton-Winder Field, pitted Woodstock against the defending Division II champions, the Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles, and

Whereas, the championship game was a spectacular showcase of the Lady Wasps’ offensive magic which was first displayed five minutes into the game when Zoe Langhans scored Woodstock’s opening goal, and

Whereas, as the first half continued, Erin Camp; Ashly Edmunds, scoring twice; and Dani Lewis sent the orange ball into the goal to create a 5–0 Woodstock halftime lead that the Lady Wasps retained until the final whistle, and

Whereas, this convincing win made Woodstock the 2007 Division II field hockey champions, the team’s first state crown since 2000, and

Whereas, the amazing 2007 field hockey campaign featured numerous special highlights, such as an undefeated 16–0 record, Woodstock’s first since 1997; senior goalie Jackie Stacey’s eight shutouts; and a team total of 68 goals, with Dani Lewis, who was named the Vermont Sportswriters and Sportscasters’ female athlete of the month for September, scoring 31 goals, and

Whereas, every Lady Wasp, including Jackie Stacey, Erin Camp, Lura Pratson, Tabitha O’Connell, Zoe Langhans, Monique Hanson, Ashly Edmunds, Abi Brown, Katherine Winsor, Margaret Hoisington, Blake Wardwell, Callie Bellimer, Ana DiNatale, Hali Roy, Lyndsie Lord, Jerrica Breault, Mary Griffin, Dani Lewis, and Liz McCuaig, played with energy and enthusiasm throughout the fall, and coach Wendy Wannop, and assistant coach Kelly Rowland, taught the Lady Wasps the game’s essential elements of play, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Woodstock Union High School Lady Wasps Division II championship field hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Wendy Wannop at Woodstock Union High School.


              Attested to:




Brian E. Dubie                                                    Donald G. Milne

President of the Senate                                            Clerk, House of Representatives                                           


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont