Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  128

House concurrent resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Green Mountain National Forest

Offered by:  Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Andrews of Rutland City, Acinapura of Brandon, Adams of Hartland, Ainsworth of Royalton, Allard of St. Albans Town, Ancel of Calais, Anderson of Montpelier, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of S. Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Barnard of Richmond, Bissonnette of Winooski, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Bray of New Haven, Brennan of Colchester, Browning of Arlington, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Cheney of Norwich, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clark of Vergennes, Clarkson of Woodstock, Clerkin of Hartford, Condon of Colchester, Consejo of Sheldon, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Corcoran of Bennington, Courcelle of Rutland City, Davis of Washington, Deen of Westminster, Devereux of Mount Holly, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Dostis of Waterbury, Edwards of Brattleboro, Emmons of Springfield, Errecart of Shelburne, Evans of Essex, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Fitzgerald of St. Albans City, Flory of Pittsford, Frank of Underhill, French of Randolph, Gervais of Enosburg, Gilbert of Fairfax, Godin of Milton, Grad of Moretown, Haas of Rochester, Head of S. Burlington, Heath of Westford, Helm of Castleton, Hosford of Waitsfield, Howard of Rutland City, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hube of Londonderry, Hudson of Lyndon, Hunt of Essex, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Johnson of South Hero, Johnson of Canaan, Keenan of St. Albans City, Keogh of Burlington, Kilmartin of Newport City, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Komline of Dorset, Krawczyk of Bennington, Kupersmith of S. Burlington, Larocque of Barnet, Larrabee of Danville, Larson of Burlington, Lawrence of Lyndon, Lenes of Shelburne, Livingston of Manchester, Malcolm of Pawlet, Manwaring of Wilmington, Marcotte of Coventry, Martin of Springfield, Martin of Wolcott, Masland of Thetford, McAllister of Highgate, McCormack of Rutland City, McDonald of Berlin, McFaun of Barre Town, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Shaftsbury, Minter of Waterbury, Mook of Bennington, Moran of Wardsboro, Morley of Barton, Mrowicki of Putney, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, O'Donnell of Vernon, Ojibway of Hartford, Orr of Charlotte, Otterman of Topsham, Oxholm of Vergennes, Pearson of Burlington, Peaslee of Guildhall, Peltz of Woodbury, Perry of Richford, Peterson of Williston, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of S. Burlington, Randall of Troy, Rodgers of Glover, Scheuermann of Stowe, Shand of Weathersfield, Sharpe of Bristol, Shaw of Derby, Smith of Morristown, Stevens of Shoreham, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Sweaney of Windsor, Trombley of Grand Isle, Turner of Milton, Valliere of Barre City, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington, Zenie of Colchester and Zuckerman of Burlington

Whereas, during the 19th century, Vermont’s haphazard logging practices transformed the state’s timber stock from softwoods to hardwoods, resulted in extensive deforestation, and prompted Governor Urban Woodbury, in an 1894 address to the General Assembly, to express concern over the security of the state’s wood industry, and

Whereas, early in the 20th century, the accumulated ecological damages from the lack of sound forestry management resulted in serious forest fires in the state, and

Whereas, the state of Vermont had only limited resources to address the long-term need to manage properly the state’s timber resources, and

Whereas, conservationists Marshel Hapgood and Joseph Battell were among the first Vermonters to suggest federal acquisition of mountainous forest land to assure its proper management, and

Whereas, proposals were presented to the National Forest Reservation Committee (NFRC) to establish a national forest in Vermont which unlike western national forests, would be comprised of land that the federal government had not owned previously, and

Whereas, a prerequisite for the NFRC to recommend the establishment of a new national forest was the adoption of state-authorizing legislation which the general assembly adopted as Act 1 of 1925, “An act to enable the United States government to establish national forests in the state of Vermont,” and

Whereas, in 1928, the state of Vermont presented formal proposals to the NFRC for the establishment of a national forest, and on December 12 of that year, the NFRC voted to accept the state’s proposals, and

Whereas, on April 25, 1932, President Hoover signed the proclamation establishing the Green Mountain National Forest, and the first land acquired for this new forest was from the estate of Marshel Hapgood, and

Whereas, from this initial 1,842-acre purchase, the Green Mountain National Forest has grown to encompass 400,000 federally owned acres within the overall boundaries of the forest’s northern and southern land units, and

Whereas, the Green Mountain National Forest provides significant land management protection, a source for scientific research, and outdoor recreational opportunities for thousands of individuals, and

Whereas, in 2007, the Green Mountain National Forest, in collaboration with the staff and volunteers at the Bennington Chamber of Commerce, will serve as the woodland source for this holiday season’s national Christmas tree to be displayed, in all its beautiful glory, at the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C., and

Whereas, April 25, 2007 marks the 75th anniversary of the establishment of the Green Mountain National Forest, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly commemorates the 75th anniversary of the Green Mountain National Forest, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Meg Mitchell, Green Mountain National Forest Supervisor, in Rutland.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont