Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  107

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Burr and Burton Academy Bulldogs 2007 Division II championship boys’ ice hockey team

Offered by:  Representatives Livingston of Manchester, Corcoran of Bennington, Hube of Londonderry, Krawczyk of Bennington and Morrissey of Bennington

Offered by:  Senators Hartwell and Sears

Whereas, the 2006–2007 Burr and Burton boys’ ice hockey team shone on the ice all season long, and

Whereas, having defeated their opponents in each succeeding round of  playoff competition, the second-seeded Bulldogs faced their final challenge, namely, to defeat the first-seeded Colchester High School Lakers, the
2005–2006 Division II title holders, and

Whereas, when the two teams and their many fans gathered at Gutterson Field House in Burlington for the decisive game, they could not have imagined a more thrilling conclusion, and

Whereas, following a scoreless opening period, at 6:57 in the second period,  Bulldog Trevor Pollock, having received the puck on a pass from teammate Shane Daiek, scored the evening’s first point when the puck ultimately settled into the net, despite the Laker goalie’s deflecting it away, and

Whereas, five minutes later, Shane Daiek had his own moment of glory scoring the Bulldogs’ second goal, and

Whereas, Colchester was hardly finished as the Lakers took advantage of a power play early in the third period to score their first goal, and then, at 11:07 of the third period, tied the game at 2–all, and

Whereas, both the balance of regulation play and the first overtime period were displays of intensive but scoreless ice hockey, and

Whereas, the exhausted but determined Bulldogs capped an amazing evening on the ice when Burr and Burton’s Christopher Coppin scored the winning goal at 3:15 in the second overtime period, giving the Bulldogs the 2007 Division II championship and a memorable 18-3-1 season, and

Whereas, every Burr and Burton player including Brian Walters, Devon Ingison, Alex Miskovsky, Kent Stafford, Ethan Edson, Chris Murray, Thomas Biggs, Sooner Dawsen, Trevor Pollock, Brendan McCarthy, Matthew Rosenthal, Owen Hill, Shane Daiek, Schuyler Shaughnessy, Ben Jenkins, Ben Brownlee, Troy Johnson, Sam Marvin, Nick Vincent, Christopher Coppin, Patrick Quinn, and Jake Griswold, was a reason for the team’s success, and

Whereas, coach Cory Herrington and assistant coach Dale Coppin inspired their players to perform their very best, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Burr and Burton Academy Bulldogs 2007 Division II championship boys’ ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Cory Herrington at Burr and Burton Academy.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont