Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  75

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Mt. Anthony Union High School Patriots’ Division I championship boys’ and girls’ Nordic ski teams 

Offered by:  Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Botzow of Pownal, Corcoran of Bennington, Krawczyk of Bennington, Miller of Shaftsbury and Mook of Bennington

Offered by:  Senators Hartwell and Sears

Whereas, a large and enthusiastic hometown crowd of parents and friends cheered on both the 2007 Mt. Anthony Union High School (MAU) Patriots’ girls and boys’ Nordic ski teams to their respective Division I championship titles, and

Whereas, on the first of the two days of the championship meet, held at Bolton Valley, both teams excelled and headed south comfortably in first place, the boys by 34 points and the girls by 25, and

Whereas, in the second day’s individual classic race, six of the Patriot girls finished among the top 20, including Kelsey Hoar who crossed the finish line in sixth place, and the MAU girls’ overall performance surpassed their primary rivals’ from Champlain Valley Union High School, and

Whereas, the boys skied in fine form in the individual event as Patriot Steven Vargo came in first, and his teammates, starting with Doug Amos, captured sixth through ninth place, and

Whereas, the culminating classic relay race in the afternoon was a triumph for both the boys and girls as each set of relay skiers was the top finisher, and

Whereas, when all the points were tallied, the MAU  Lady Patriots had by far the best score of all the girls’ teams with 99 points, and the boys completed the two-day event equally triumphant, winning first place honors with 67 points, and

Whereas, boy Patriots Steven Vargo, who won individual championships in both the freestyle and classic events, Andy Eames, Ian Dulin, Chris Stevenson,  Nick Costantino, Woody Roxon, Ethan Beal-Brown, Jesse Noel, Doug Amos, Colin Reisler, Michael Smith, and Jacob Reisler, and girl Patriots Lauren Buckley, Caitlin Smith, Lettie Stratton, Mem Dailey, Helen Sharkey, Julia Seyferth, Allison Elwell, Kelsey Hoar, Mackenzie Kurtzner, Carson Casey, Kriste Carra, Anya Eckhardt, and Elise Seyferth each skied magnificently, and

Whereas, coaches Bruce Smith and Rob Short directed the 2007 MAU Nordic teams to their triumphant season finales, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Mount Anthony Union High School Patriots’ Division I championship boys’ and girls’ Nordic ski teams, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bruce Smith at Mt. Anthony Union High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont