Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  74

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Mt. Anthony Union High School Division I championship girls’ basketball team

Offered by:  Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Botzow of Pownal, Corcoran of Bennington, Krawczyk of Bennington, Miller of Shaftsbury and Mook of Bennington

Offered by:  Senators Hartwell and Sears

Whereas, the first-seeded Mt. Anthony Union High School (MAU) Lady Patriots’ girls’ basketball team brought a superb 21-2 record into the Division I championship against the Rice Memorial High School Green Knights, and

Whereas, in this thrilling match-up at the University of Vermont’s Patrick Gymnasium, MAU scored the opening two points, and completed the first quarter holding a narrow 13-11 lead, and

Whereas, the second quarter found the Green Knights on the offensive as Rice left the court at halftime the owner of a 29-23 advantage, and

Whereas, the Lady Patriots reviewed their strategy during the midgame break, and they returned knowing that the championship was their sole objective, and

Whereas, that final outcome required patience as MAU trailed 34-25 well into the third quarter, but the Lady Patriots ultimately employed their best offensive tactics to tie the game at 53-all at the end of regulation play, and

Whereas, early in the overtime period, MAU’s Alyssa Herrington completed a 13-foot shot to give the Lady Patriots an irreversible lead, and with 30 seconds remaining, Lyndsey Moore sent a 14-foot shot through the hoop, and Alyssa Herrington finished the evening by connecting on two free throws to seal a 61- 58 MAU victory, and

Whereas, Lady Patriots Jade Stratton, Courtney Harrington, Lyndsey Moore, Alyssa Herrington, Kayla Whitman, Meghan Murphy, Jhonny Mahar, Kasey Frasier, Becca Sklepowicz, Stephanie Mattison, Michelle King, Lizzy Curtin and Kourtney Hewitt were each an essential team member, and managers Mekenzie Krause and Hanna Cross provided valuable administrative support, and

Whereas, senior Lyndsey Moore and junior Alyssa Herrington were selected for the Marble Valley League’s first team, and

Whereas, head coach Leo Reynolds was named a co-winner of the league’s coach of the year award, and the work of assistant coaches Bill Martin and Gretchen Johnson contributed to the team’s success, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Mt. Anthony Union High School Division I championship girls’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Leo Reynolds at Mt. Anthony Union High School in Bennington.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont