Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-417.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Vermont Frost Heaves on winning the 2008 American Basketball Association championship.


Offered by:  Representatives McDonald of Berlin, Ainsworth of Royalton, Anderson of Montpelier, Audette of S. Burlington, Bissonnette of Winooski, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Devereux of Mount Holly, Godin of Milton, Grad of Moretown, Hube of Londonderry, Jewett of Ripton, Keogh of Burlington, Koch of Barre Town, Lorber of Burlington, Maier of Middlebury, McFaun of Barre Town, Monti of Barre City, Moran of Wardsboro, Morley of Barton, Mrowicki of Putney, Nease of Johnson, Oxholm of Vergennes, Pearson of Burlington, Scheuermann of Stowe, Sharpe of Bristol, Stevens of Shoreham, Symington of Jericho, Valliere of Barre City, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington and Zuckerman of Burlington

Offered by:  Senators Doyle, Coppenrath, Cummings and Scott

Whereas, the Vermont Frost Heaves 2007 American Basketball Association (ABA) championship thrilled their many fans who anticipated another spectacular season of play in 2008, and

Whereas, once again in 2008, the Frost Heaves earned the coveted first place post-season competition ranking, and the far north journey to Quebec City proved no deterrence to the Frost Heaves’ championship quest, and

Whereas, in the quarterfinal and semifinal playoff tournament rounds, the Frost Heaves defeated the San Francisco Ramble and the Texas Tycoons, respectively, and

Whereas, this left only the San Diego Wildcats standing in the way of a second ABA title for the Frost Heaves, and

Whereas, the Sunday, March 30 championship game against the Wildcats was as thrilling as any sportswriter might imagine, and

Whereas, despite the fevered pitch of play, when the buzzer sounded, the Frost Heaves won the game 87–84 and were crowned the 2008 ABA champions, and

Whereas, this is the first team, whose 2007–2008 roster featured Dokun Akingbade, Markus Austin, Tyrone Barley, John Bryant, Antonio Burks, Chris Cayole, Brett Gravitt, Terrance Green, Issa Konare, Dwayne Lee, Erik Nelson,  Dwuan Rice, B.J. Robertson, and Ted Skuchas, in the contemporary ABA to earn two consecutive championship trophies, and

Whereas, team member Dwuan Rice was named the tournament’s most valuable player, and

Whereas, most deservedly, head coach Will Voigt has, for the second consecutive year, been designated the ABA Coach of the Year, and in addition to winning the 2008 ABA championship, his season’s accomplishments included winning his 100th professional game and the 2008 ABA all-star contest, and

Whereas, coach Will Voigt, along with his great coaching and medical staff, consisting of assistant coaches Wayne Lafley, Matt Saltus, and Kerry Lyons, strength and conditioning coach, Scott Caulfield, trainer Meggan McCusker, and team physician, Dr. Robert Leubbers, had major roles in the team’s success, and

Whereas, team president and general manager Alex Wolff’s dream of professional basketball in central Vermont has blossomed into a local sporting institution, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the general assembly congratulates the Vermont Frost Heaves on winning the 2008 American Basketball Association championship, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Alex Wolff.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont