Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-379.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008 Mount St. Joseph Academy Mounties Division II championship ice hockey team.


Offered by:  Representatives Courcelle of Rutland City, Andrews of Rutland City, Flory of Pittsford, Howard of Rutland City, McCormack of Rutland City, McNeil of Rutland Town, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon and Potter of Clarendon

Offered by:  Senators Mullin, Carris and Maynard

Whereas, a seventh-seed draw in the playoff tournament combined with a 12-7 regular season record are less-than-optimistic indicators for an aspiring  Division II high school hockey state champion team, and

Whereas, despite these discouraging signs, the Mount St. Joseph Academy (MSJ) Mounties headed into the tournament imbued with a sense that 2008 would prove the year that their championship drought, extending back to 1992, would be ended, and

Whereas, the Mounties brought that desire to the forefront throughout the playoff series as they demonstrated a powerful offensive punch, scoring 27 goals, easily surpassing the prior four-game series record of 21, and

Whereas, the Mounties’ great effort placed them in the championship contest against the defending Division II champion and fourth-seeded Burr and Burton Academy Bulldogs, and

Whereas, although the Bulldogs scored the initial goal, it proved a temporary advantage as the Mounties’ Shawn Miller evened the point allocation within a minute, and teammate Bill Shouldice sent MSJ ahead a few minutes later, ending the first period with an MSJ 2-1 lead, and

Whereas, despite the Bulldogs tying the score at 2-all early in the second period, Mounties Will Hadeka’s and Lane Wisell’s goals placed MSJ in front 4-2 at the game’s two-thirds mark, and

Whereas, shortly after the third period opened, the Bulldogs narrowed the Mounties’ lead to 4-3 while MSJ was playing short, but Mounties Miika Uotila and Steve Kallen secured two more points, and MSJ had a solid 6-3 victory and the 2008 Division II ice hockey championship, and

Whereas, Mounties Zachary Heath, Bill Shouldice, Joel Korkvakangas, Eric Ladabouche, Matt Messier, Miika Uotila, Shawn Miller, Janne Kelahaara, Connor McGinnis, Steve Kallen, Lane Wisell, Corey Lacz, Brian Ribbans, Conner Burke, Nick Mobilio, Seth Widli, Will Hadeka, Kevin Grassi, Colin McCormick, and Zach Richards were outstanding players, and

Whereas, head coach Chris Creed and assistant coaches Chris Cosgrove and Todd Widli were instrumental in leading the Mounties to the championship, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2008 Mount St. Joseph Academy Mounties Division II championship ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Chris Creed at Mount St. Joseph Academy in Rutland.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont