Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-374.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008 Essex High School Hornets’ Division I championship boys’ ice hockey team.


Offered by:  Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Hunt of Essex and Jerman of Essex

Whereas, the Essex High School Hornets boys’ ice hockey team, the defending Division I champions and the winner of 12 prior state titles, has a proud history of athletic achievement, and

Whereas, the 2007–2008 Hornets, based on their strong, regular season performance, were awarded the first seed for the post-season tournament, and they progressed smoothly to the championship game at the University of Vermont’s Gutterson Fieldhouse against their cross-county rivals, the Champlain Valley Union High School (CVUHS) Redhawks, and

Whereas, much of the championship game’s offensive action occurred in the first period, during which the Hornets’ Tyler Peckham scored his team’s opening goal, and teammate Brian Pearl scored Essex’s second and third points while the Redhawks shot the puck into the net successfully just once, and

Whereas, following a scoreless second period, the third period proved decisive as CVUHS, with 10 minutes remaining in regulation play, scored its second and final goal, but the Hornets were not to be denied their third consecutive, and 13th overall, state championship as Mike Abbott scored Essex’s crucial fourth and final insurance goal later in the period and enabled Essex to finishing the contest with a 4–2 victory and the 2008 Division I state title, and

Whereas, Essex goalie Brandon Reagan’s 12 saves was a key contributing factor for the Essex victory as was the sturdy playing of Hornets Bryce Currier, Thomas Dvorak, Jake Orr, Tim Carpenter, Cullen O’Neil, Tyler Peckham, Stevie Mone, Brendan Neal, Jacob Begnoche, Sam Martin, Dan King, Bobby Fisher, Scott Tanghe, Alex Godin, Mike Abbott, Kaleb Lamos, Ben Pearl, Kyle Murdock, Ethan Clark, Nick Cheney, and Chase Congreves, and

Whereas, the instructive leadership of head coach Bill O’Neil and assistant coaches Jay Parent and Nick Mone and the administrative assistance of team manager Shaun Connolly and statisticians Leah Murdock, Amanda Abbott, and Grace O’Neil were each important, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2008 Essex High School Hornets’ Division I championship boys’ ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bill O’Neil at Essex High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont