Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-355.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Harwood Union High School Highlanders 2007 Division II championship boys’ cross-country team.


Offered by:  Representatives Minter of Waterbury, Dostis of Waterbury, Hosford of Waitsfield, Grad of Moretown and Donahue of Northfield

Offered by:  Senators Cummings, Doyle, and Scott

Whereas, Harwood Union High School has excelled in boys’ cross-country competition over the last quarter century, having won 22 state titles under the guidance of head coach John Kerrigan prior to the 2007 fall running season, and

Whereas, in 2007, once again Harwood boasted a team of superb athletes who were well-prepared to maintain a swift pace at the state championship meet held at the Thetford cross-country course, where the muddy conditions posed many challenges for the runners, and

Whereas, despite these conditions, the Highlanders continued their school’s tradition of speedily traversing the hilly terrain, with team members finishing in third, seventh, and ninth place in the decisive Division II 5K race, and

Whereas, the team’s divisional low point total of 68 points secured the Highlanders their 23rd state title, and Harwood’s margin of victory over runner-up Lyndon Institute was the largest ever recorded in any Vermont state cross-country meet, and

Whereas, Harwood’s super 2007 boys’ cross-country team consisting of Eamon Welter, Tim Shepard, Caleb Kernan, Colton Crowley, Sam McCausland, Nick Wisniewski, and Mike Shepard demonstrated both their own skills and that John Kerrigan’s leadership as a cross-country coach is unsurpassed, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Harwood Union High School Highlanders 2007 Division II championship boys’ cross-country team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to John Kerrigan at Harwood Union High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont