Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-326.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2008 BFA-St. Albans Comets girls’ Division I championship hockey team.


Offered by:  Representatives Keenan of St. Albans City, Fitzgerald of St. Albans City, Allard of St. Albans Town, Howrigan of Fairfield and Branagan of Georgia

Offered by:  Senators Collins and Kittell

Whereas, girls hockey has been the special domain of BFA-St. Albans since the Vermont Principals Association initiated post-season play, and after the Comets’ five consecutive Division I championship streak was halted in 2007, the BFA-St. Albans girls’ hockey team was strongly motivated to regain the state title, and

Whereas, the Comets’ 2007–2008 regular season earned them the top seed for post-season Division I competition, and they easily moved forward into the championship game at Norwich University’s Kreitzberg Arena against a formidable opponent, the South Burlington High School Rebels, and

Whereas, the Comets’ Caitlin Manahan, the team’s all-time high scorer, concluded her interscholastic competitive career in a most memorable way, and

Whereas, with 11:39 remaining in the second period, Manahan sent the puck into the net, after outwitting the South Burlington goalie, making the score 1–0 in BFA-St. Albans’ favor, and

Whereas, later in the second period, with 7:46 remaining, Manahan’s offensive skill was again on display when she backhanded a shot past the Rebel goalie and raised the Comet lead to 2–0, and

Whereas, as the game was nearly finished, with just 57.9 seconds left on the clock, Comet Taylor Girard scored the game’s final point, giving BFA-St. Albans a winning 3–0 margin and the team’s sixth Division I girls’ hockey championship in seven years, and

Whereas, Comet goalie sophomore Jayla Robtoy came through with 15 great saves, and

Whereas, this talented team of hockey players, including Jayla Robtoy, Charlotte Farrell, Kristin Viens, Hillary Berno, Caitlin Manahan, Montana Heinlein, Faith Howrigan, Holly Reed, Elizabeth Pion, Alison Lamell, Danielle Roberts, Mariah Branon, Emily Seguin, Maggie Piaseczny, Jessica Paquette, Emily Vallee, Alli Berno, Kelley Match, Katelynn Moreau, Brittany Branon, Morgan Dodd, Jessica Carpenter, Taylor Girard, Emma Broderick, Nora Kittell, Rachel Hubbard, Abbi Boomhover, and Kate Howard, can be proud of its 2007 season’s 19–4 record, and

Whereas, the great contributions of coach Luke Cioffi, assistant coaches Jeff Rouleau and Keane Yandow and manager Amelia Parker helped guide the team to victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2008 BFA-St. Albans Comets girls’ Division I championship hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Luke Cioffi at BFA-St. Albans High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont