Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-306.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Vermont Girl Scouts selected to attend the 52nd United Nations Commission on the Status of Women.


Offered by:  Representatives Morrissey of Bennington, Barnard of Richmond, Minter of Waterbury, Acinapura of Brandon, Adams of Hartland, Ainsworth of Royalton, Allard of St. Albans Town, Ancel of Calais, Anderson of Montpelier, Andrews of Rutland City, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of S. Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Bissonnette of Winooski, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Bray of New Haven, Brennan of Colchester, Browning of Arlington, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Cheney of Norwich, Clark of Vergennes, Clarkson of Woodstock, Condon of Colchester, Consejo of Sheldon, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Corcoran of Bennington, Courcelle of Rutland City, Crawford of Burke, Davis of Washington, Deen of Westminster, Devereux of Mount Holly, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Dostis of Waterbury, Edwards of Brattleboro, Emmons of Springfield, Errecart of Shelburne, Evans of Essex, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Fitzgerald of St. Albans City, Flory of Pittsford, Frank of Underhill, French of Randolph, Gervais of Enosburg, Gilbert of Fairfax, Grad of Moretown, Haas of Rochester, Head of S. Burlington, Heath of Westford, Helm of Castleton, Hosford of Waitsfield, Howard of Rutland City, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hube of Londonderry, Hunt of Essex, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Johnson of South Hero, Keenan of St. Albans City, Keogh of Burlington, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Komline of Dorset, Krawczyk of Bennington, Kupersmith of S. Burlington, Larocque of Barnet, Larrabee of Danville, Larson of Burlington, LaVoie of Swanton, Lawrence of Lyndon, Lenes of Shelburne, Leriche of Hardwick, Livingston of Manchester, Lorber of Burlington, Maier of Middlebury, Malcolm of Pawlet, Manwaring of Wilmington, Marcotte of Coventry, Martin of Springfield, Martin of Wolcott, Masland of Thetford, McAllister of Highgate, McCormack of Rutland City, McCullough of Williston, McDonald of Berlin, McFaun of Barre Town, McNeil of Rutland Town, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Shaftsbury, Mitchell of Barnard, Monti of Barre City, Mook of Bennington, Moran of Wardsboro, Morley of Barton, Mrowicki of Putney, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, O'Donnell of Vernon, Ojibway of Hartford, Orr of Charlotte, Otterman of Topsham, Oxholm of Vergennes, Partridge of Windham, Pearson of Burlington, Peaslee of Guildhall, Pellett of Chester, Peltz of Woodbury, Perry of Richford, Peterson of Williston, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of S. Burlington, Randall of Troy, Rodgers of Glover, Scheuermann of Stowe, Shand of Weathersfield, Sharpe of Bristol, Shaw of Derby, Smith of Morristown, Spengler of Colchester, Sweaney of Windsor, Symington of Jericho, Trombley of Grand Isle, Turner of Milton, Valliere of Barre City, Westman of Cambridge, Weston of Burlington, Wheeler of Derby, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington, Zenie of Colchester and Zuckerman of Burlington

Offered by:  Senators Kittell, Snelling, White, Ayer, Bartlett, Campbell, Carris, Collins, Condos, Coppenrath, Cummings, Doyle, Flanagan, Giard, Hartwell, Illuzzi, Kitchel, Lyons, MacDonald, Maynard, Mazza, McCormack, Miller, Mullin, Nitka, Racine, Scott, Sears, Shumlin and Starr

Whereas, in the coming days, the 52nd United Nations Commission on the Status of Women will convene at United Nations headquarters in New York City, and

Whereas, the commission will consider the theme “financing for gender equality and the empowerment of women,” and

Whereas, the national Girl Scouts of the USA’s Global Issues Council has honored six Vermont Girl Scouts, who are legislative 2008 interns in the Girls Rock the Capitol program, with a special invitation to attend the commission’s proceedings in New York, and

Whereas, these Vermont Girl Scouts were selected for this honor because the Girls Rock the Capitol program has no counterpart in any other state or regional member council of Girl Scouts of the USA and because the Vermont program has been recognized for its educational excellence, and

Whereas, they will attend the commission’s opening plenary session, general assembly sessions, and other parallel events, and

Whereas, the Vermont Girl Scouts traveling to New York and their respective legislative mentors when they are in Montpelier are Hallie Washburn of Williamstown (Representative Denise Barnard), Brittany Wieland of Georgia (Representative Sue Minter), Courtney Mattison of Rutland (Senator Jeanette White), Kate Bull of Waterford (Senator Diane Snelling), Ellie Beckett of Williston (Senator Sara Kittell) and Alexis Lounsbury of Proctor (Representative Mary Morrissey), and

Whereas, accompanying the Vermont Girl Scouts on this exciting journey will be Carmel Quinn, director of teen programs of the Girl Scout Council of Vermont, and council board member Carol Story, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates each of the Vermont Girl Scouts selected to attend the 52nd United Nations Commission on the Status of Women , and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of the Girl Scouts honored in this resolution and to the Girl Scout Council of Vermont in Essex.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont