Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-274.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Spaulding Union High School Crimson Tide Division II championship football team.


     By Senators Doyle, Cummings and Scott,

     By Representatives Koch of Barre Town, McDonald of Berlin, McFaun of Barre Town, Monti of Barre City and Valliere of Barre City

Whereas, the miraculous story of Spaulding Union High School’s 2007 football season must be prefaced with the information that the Crimson Tide had posted eight consecutive losses during its 2006 gridiron campaign, and

Whereas, with great playing throughout the 2007 season, the team established an impressive 9–1 record and earned a berth in the Division II championship game against the Mount Mansfield Union High School Cougars, and

Whereas, at the Division II championship game, Spaulding’s James Durham returned the opening kick for a 64-yard romp down the field, and then Spaulding quarterback Zach Dessureau completed the game’s first scoring drive with his own 21-yard run, and

Whereas, Spaulding scored on three of its first five first-half possessions, establishing a comfortable, but hardly final, 20–0 lead at halftime, and

Whereas, early in the third-quarter, Mount Mansfield fumbled, the Crimson Tide recovered, and four plays later, Zach Dessureau threw one of his four championship game touchdown passes, and

Whereas, after a successful post-touchdown kick, Spaulding was ahead 27‑0, a lead it later increased to 34–0 before Mount Mansfield narrowed the point disparity slightly to 34–7 before the game ended, and

Whereas, Spaulding’s historic 2007 Division II football championship resulted from the amazing teamwork of the entire Crimson Tide squad, including Cameron Cummings, James Durham, Tim Durham, Gabe Aguilar, Nick Paton, Ethan Cody, Mike Rubalcaba, Matt Malek, Domenic Franco, Alex Campos, Bryant Cleveland, Robert Page, Zach Dessureau, Joey Duprey, Cori Farnham, Bryan Keane, Brett Tremblay, Eric Thompson, Steve Thompson, Shaun Brunner, Matt Ballard, Matt Goulet, Markus Browning, Ethan Matz, Tom Batchelder, Dante Rossi, Matt Liese, Joe Goewy, Dan Lockwood, Ryan Gariboldi, Mike Byam, Mevludin Bahonjic, Zach Nelson, Jeromy Anderson, Stefan Triana, Trey Hood, Corey Wells, Ken Demingware and Jake Kittredge, and

Whereas, coach Brennan Carney deserves special commendation for his role in developing the Crimson Tide into a true team of champions, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Spaulding Union High School Crimson Tide Division II championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Brennan Carney at Spaulding Union High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont