Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-270.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 South Burlington High School Rebels Division I championship boys' tennis team.


     By Senators Condos, Flanagan, Lyons, Miller, Racine and Snelling,

     By Representatives Audette of South Burlington, Head of South Burlington, Kupersmith of South Burlington and Pugh of South Burlington,

Whereas, the 2007 South Burlington High School Rebels boys’ tennis team brought its proud tradition of high-quality play, symbolized by the team’s amazing record of 16 prior state championships, into the spring 2007 campaign, and

Whereas, after the Rebels defeated every team they played, which translated into wins in 92 of 114 matches, the Rebels were prepared to take their 15-0 record into the state championship against the second-seeded Brattleboro Union High School Colonels, and

Whereas, in his matches, the Rebels’ No. 1 singles player, Jeff Yang, despite falling behind 3-1 in the opening set, rebounded easily and dominated his opponent by winning five consecutive games, culminating in a match point based on 6-3, 6-2 set victories, and

Whereas, freshman Alex Ward thrilled the hometown championship final crowd with his commanding 6-1, 6-1 set scores, demonstrating why he won the state 2007 state single’s championship, and teammates Kevin White and Taylor Wilkins also has successful singles matches, and

Whereas, the Rebels’ No. 1 doubles pair of Ethan Tarricone and Charlie Dunn, after a first set 6-3 loss, focused on their play and captured their match 6-3, 7-3, and South Burlington’s second doubles pair, Ben Wargo and Mark Mallory, also won a tie breaker to clinch their match, and

Whereas, the Rebel’s 2007 season was assured of a state championship designation when Jonathon Covell won his single’s match handily 6-2, 6-1 as South Burlington left the courtside benches with a 7-0 victory over Brattleboro Union High School, and

Whereas, everyone on the 2007 South Burlington boys’ tennis roster, including Charlie Dunn, Andy Gower, Jeffrey Lee, Ethan Tarricone, Ben Wargo, Kevin White, Taylor Wilkins, Jeff Yang, Jonathon Covell, Andrew Kaufman, Steve Bolger, Mark Mallory and Alex Ward, contributed to the Rebel’s superb 2007 undefeated Division I championship season, and

Whereas, Coach Bill Price exhibited great leadership talent throughout this exciting endeavor, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 South Burlington High School Rebels Division I championship boys’ tennis team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bill Price at South Burlington High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont