Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-249.  Senate concurrent resolution Congratulating the 2007 Hartford Hurricanes Division I championship football team.


     By Senators Campbell, McCormack and Nitka,

     By Representatives Clerkin and Ojibway

     Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Hartford Hurricanes Division I championship football team.

Whereas, in 2004 and again in 2005 and 2006, the Hartford High School Hurricanes played valiantly but unfortunately were not victorious in the Division I championship games, and

Whereas, the team, including its 22 seniors, persevered in the fall of 2007 despite the absence of Senator John Campbell as the Hurricanes’ informative stadium announcer, and Hartford was rewarded with a fourth consecutive trip to the Division I football season’s decisive event, and 

Whereas, despite the South Burlington High School Rebels’ posting of the game’s first score with less than a minute remaining in the first period, the Hurricanes continued to exude confidence on the football field, and

Whereas, Hartford soon rebounded, executing a 64-yard rushing drive that concluded with Mick Wong’s 12-yard run into the end zone for the Hurricanes’ first touchdown, and teammate Sean Fernandes’s successful point after kick tied the two teams at 7–all, and

Whereas, for the balance of regulation play, each team’s defensive squad prevented the opposing team from scoring any points, and

Whereas, shortly after the now-tired teams began overtime play, Hartford’s Jesse LaFountaine recovered a South Burlington fumble, Hurricane Peter Lynch then carried the ball almost to the victory line, and teammate Eric Newton gained the final yard to give Hartford a 13–7 victory and a long anticipated Division football championship, the school’s first since entering Division I competition 14 years ago, and

Whereas, the entire Hartford roster consisting of Adam Chabot, Cameron Laundry, Terrell Martin, Ryan Adams, Matt Latvis, Jeff Leach, Jeremy Bergeron, Seth Bell, Peter Crosby, Beau Bomhower, Stephen Mackner, Taylor Kelton, Cory Simonds, Drew Twitchell, Eric Herschel, Troy Burch, Trevor Wood, Eric Meunier, Sean Fernandes, Derek Beebe, Mick Wong, Craig Lavalla, Sean Parker, Connor McWilliams, Ryan Aiken, Jon Rowe, Tucker Raney, Jesse LaFountaine, Sean Stone, Westley Crawford, Peter Lynch, Eric Newton, Jamison O’Neil, Zach Rowe, Kyle Herron, Walter Todt, Blake Issacs, Brandon Bergeron, Derek Issacs, Sean Dunton, Chris Dunn, Robert Shaw, Eric LaFountaine, Nathan Ocker, Kathryn Latham, Mike Paino, Kevin Seaver, Matt Koloski, Andrew Durand and Ryan Mullen can take great pride in this victory, and

Whereas, head coach Mike Stone, who has been named the 2007 Division 1 coach of the year, assistant coaches Rick Adams, Ben Gardner, Pete Lynch, Bill Schellong and Matt Trombly, and veteran Hartford High School athletic trainer Luna Ricker, inspired the team to new heights, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Hartford Hurricanes Division I championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mike Stone at Hartford High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont