Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-187.  House concurrent resolution congratulating Harwood Union High School students’ award-winning jazz musicianship.


Offered by:  Representatives Minter of Waterbury, Dostis of Waterbury, Donahue of Northfield, Grad of Moretown and Hosford of Waitsfield

Whereas, jazz is a musical genre that swings and reverberates with a sound that is uniquely American, and

Whereas, Harwood Union High School has earned a reputation for excellence in jazz musicianship, both within Vermont and nationally, and

Whereas, on March 13, the Harwood Jazz Band, consisting of Quinn Mahoney, Iris Davis, Cecilia Scribner, Cecilia Hackerson, Keith Nelson, Garnet Morgan, Justin Gilman, Neal Smeltzer, Jake Sallerson, Taylor Scribner, Geoff Vantine, Greg Mehuron, Joe Simoes, Josh Baker, Patrick Torsell, Michael Hardin, Chris Barosky, Greg Sallerson, and Chris Markley, won first place for the third straight year at the Vermont High School Jazz Festival in Burlington, an honor that earned the school’s jazz musicians statewide recognition, and

Whereas, at the festival, Neal Smeltzer, Joe Simoes, Josh Baker, Michael Hardin, Chris Barosky, and Greg Sallerson were selected to participate in the Vermont All‑State High School Jazz Band; Michael Hardin and Greg Sallerson were presented performance scholarships and Michael Hardin was also a composition scholarship winner, and

Whereas, the stellar quality of the school’s jazz music program was demonstrated once again on a national stage when Harwood students won honors at the Berklee College of Music High School Jazz Festival in Boston, considered the premier secondary school jazz music competition in the United States, and

Whereas, the Harwood students were prepared to show the judges that jazz music thrives in the towns nestled at the foot of the Green Mountains, and

Whereas, the presence of students from large urban high schools, and magnet schools specializing in music, did not deter the Harwood students from taking their instruments in hand and conducting jam sessions that amazed their competitors and impressed the judges, and

Whereas, the Harwood small jazz ensemble, consisting of Chris Barosky, Chris Markley, Michael Hardin, and Greg Sallerson, won the first prize, making 2007 the second consecutive year that the school has brought home this special award, and 

Whereas, Harwood’s jazz band played superbly, and, although it earned second placing on the judges’ scoring sheets, the band was unfortunately eliminated from consideration due to extending the performance time accidentally by eight seconds, and

Whereas, individual festival honorees from Harwood included Chris Barosky, who was presented two Outstanding Musicianship Awards, Michael Hardin, who also won an Outstanding Musicianship Award, and Greg Sallerson, who earned a Superior Musicianship Award, and

Whereas, Harwood faculty member Bruce Sklar has organized and directed a jazz music curriculum and performance ensembles that are truly among the top in the nation, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Harwood Union High School students’ award-winning jazz musicianship, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bruce Sklar at Harwood Union High School in Duxbury.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont