Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-183.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship girls’ field hockey team.

(H.C.R. 113)

Offered by:  Representatives Fisher of Lincoln, Sharpe of Bristol, Bray of New Haven and Clark of Vergennes

Offered by:  Senators Ayer and Giard

Whereas, Mt. Abraham Union High School’s girls field hockey program and the phrase “Division II champions” have become synonymous in recent years as the Eagles have captured the title in each of the preceding four seasons, and

Whereas, after an initial 2006 record of two wins and three defeats, the Eagles banded together, and the frequency of team victories shot upwards, and

Whereas, Mt. Abraham earned the fourth seed in the Division II playoffs and, ultimately, entry into the championship contest against the second-seeded Springfield High School Cosmos, and

Whereas, the well-prepared Mt. Abraham Eagles demonstrated their right to retain the championship designation when Amanda Shaw assisted teammate Mesa Dobek who scored the opening goal early in the first period, and

Whereas, most of the game featured the Eagles’ outstanding defense as the Cosmos were able to muster only a single shot on goal and penalty corner kick, respectively, and

Whereas, in the final minute of regulation play, Eagle Kaitlyn Bedell sent a free hit to teammate Amanda Shaw who forwarded the ball on to Mt. Abraham’s Jade Dingler who, in turn, scored the season’s final goal with just four seconds left on the official clock, and

Whereas, the triumphant 2006 field hockey season ended with Mt. Abraham finishing the year with an outstanding 9–5–3 record and a fifth consecutive Division II championship trophy, and

Whereas, every member of the Eagle team, including Gillian Comito, Michelle Laframboise, Kerri Hoag, Mesa Dobek, Kaitlyn Bedell, Kayla Flint,  Melanie Acker, Sarah Keeney, Jessie Ruth Corkins, Sieria Urich, Amanda Shaw, Paige Wener, Lindsey Smith, Jade Dingler, Kayla Wisell, Julia Wilkinson, Georgia Winters, Shannon Jipner, and Samantha Flint, deserves credit for this great season of field hockey, and

Whereas, the instruction and support of head coach Mary Stetson and assistant coaches Ann Pollender and Kate Pellegrini were major contributors to the team’s continuing success, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship girls’ field hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mary Stetson at Mt. Abraham Union High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont