Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-182.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship baseball team.


Offered by:  Representatives Fisher of Lincoln, Sharpe of Bristol, Bray of New Haven and Clark of Vergennes

Offered by:  Senators Ayer and Giard

Whereas, after a 3–14 record in 2005, the 2006 Mt. Abraham Union High School baseball Eagles would not have appeared to be the likely winner of last spring’s Division II baseball crown, and

Whereas, the Eagles, who were 10–6 at the close of the regular 2006 season, were seeded 5th in the Division II playoff tournament, but as veteran sports fans know, the team rankings do not always foretell which school will bring home the championship trophy, and

Whereas, other Division II championship contenders were absolutely powerless to stop Mt. Abraham’s tournament victories as the Eagles allowed only five runs in four games while scoring a grand total of 28, and

Whereas, Eagle sophomore pitcher, Greg Lutton, who struck out eight, was among the new talent on the field in the decisive championship contest played against Peoples Academy at Centennial Field in Burlington, and

Whereas, all of the Eagles’ offensive brilliance occurred in the bottom of the third as two consecutive batters hit singles and promptly stole second base which enabled the lead runner to come home on a teammate’s sacrifice ground ball to shortstop, and

Whereas, after the Peoples pitcher allowed two Eagles to reach base on walks, the first intentionally and the second not by design, Mt. Abraham’s Jordan Estey, who was playing despite an ankle sprain, connected with a sacrifice hit, scoring the runner from third, and the two Eagles still on base crossed home when Greg Lutton aided his own cause with a clean double to right field, and

Whereas, no more runs were required as Mt. Abraham Union High School won the game 4–0 and the 2006 Division II baseball championship, and

Whereas, the entire 2006 Mt. Abraham Union High School baseball squad, consisting of Chris Berry, Gregg Butler, Keith Coakley, DJ Detweiller, Chad Estey, Jordan Estey, Wade Farr, Matt Gordon, Brenden Hoag, Corey Kayhart, Greg Lutton, Jared Malzac, Will Manley, Joey Mashia, Austin Olson, and Devin Wendel, deserves commendation, and

Whereas, Jeff Stetson celebrated his silver anniversary as head coach in grand style while assistant coaches Bill Leggett and Reggie Wedge and team manager Becky Cowin performed valiantly all season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship baseball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jeff Stetson at Mt. Abraham Union High School in Bristol.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont