Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-136.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Essex High School Hornets state championship girls' and boys’ indoor track and field teams.

(S.C.R. 17)

By Senators Condos, Flanagan, Lyons, Miller, Racine and Snelling,

By Representatives Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Hunt of Essex, Jerman of Essex and Myers of Essex,

Whereas, the 2006–2007 indoor track and field season proved extremely successful for both the girls’ and boys’ teams at Essex High School, and

Whereas, each team displayed speed and agility all of which are important factors in athletic competition as it achieved scores that demonstrated consistent practice, and a positive attitude, and

Whereas, at a meet held on January 13, Hornet Sarah Sherman set a new state high jump record at 5 feet 5 inches, and

Whereas, at the state championship indoor track and field meet held in Norwich on February 10, the Essex High School girls’ team won first place with a team score of 79, which was 33 points more than its nearest competitor, and

Whereas, the members of this excellent group of young track and field athletes consisted of Amanda Abbott, Caitlin Campbell, Leah Conchieri, Cali Cornacchia, Jessica Cota, Laura Daniel, Jenna Delibac, Melisa Dobraca, Heather Francouer, Stephanie Frank, Tonya Frank, Erin Frey, Heather Garner, Maggie Gelinas, Lauren Goodnow, Kelsey Guziak, Shannon Heath, Jessie Ingalls, Kelly Morse, Leah Murdock, Trinh Nguyen, Anna Norcross, Alexandra O’Sullivan, Sam O’Sullivan, Alexis Purdy, Katherine Ramsey, Sarah Sherman, Carly Steffen, Samantha Tavlin, Elizabeth Tobey, Marissa Wells and Shirley Zhou, and

Whereas, the boy Hornets also brought home a 2007 track and field championship title, winning their competition with a total of 117.5 points, more than double the total score of the second place finisher, and

Whereas, the boys’ 4 by 200 relay team of Matt McQueen, Brad Williams, Scott Cayea and Zac Farham-Haskell set a new state record finishing the event in 1 minute and 35.63 seconds, and

Whereas, Hornet Jason Polakowski ran for a new state high hurdles mark at 7.92 seconds, and

Whereas, all the Essex boys’ track and field athletes, including Tucker Auch, Jensen Boden, Justin Bouffard, Matt Breuer, Beau Cameron, Ryan Carroll, Scott Cayea, Jamie Chadurjian, Matt Dabide, Jake Farnham-Haskell, Zac Farnham-Haskell, Addison Fay, Josh Fontaine, Will Fuqua, Crey Hewitt, Ross Kelley, Scott Kelley, Tyler Kent, Jamie Kida, Brandon Kieft, Dan Koch, Sean Maguire, Matt McQueen, Josh Mitchell, John Mullen, Eddie Pantzar, Eddie Peters, Jason Polakowski, Dan Ramsey, Nolan Richard, Chris Root, Adam Sherman, Dustin Slagle, R.J. Stearns, Greg Tyler, Sean Wagoner, Adam Watts, Brad Williams and Jacob Young, are to be commended for their outstanding efforts throughout this year’s indoor track and field season, and

Whereas, the coaching staff of Essex High School’s track and field teams, head coach Jeremy Hammond, and assistant coaches Annah Sullivan and Ken Fontaine, maximized these students’ abilities to excel in the various events, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Essex High School Hornets state championship girls’ and boys’ indoor track and field teams, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Jeremy Hammond at Essex High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont