Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-128.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the independent telephone companies in Vermont for their extensive installation of broadband access in their respective market areas.


Offered by:  Representatives Jewett of Ripton, Adams of Hartland, Ancel of Calais, Bissonnette of Winooski, Botzow of Pownal, Bray of New Haven, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clark of Vergennes, Condon of Colchester, Consejo of Sheldon, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Davis of Washington, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Emmons of Springfield, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Fitzgerald of St. Albans City, Grad of Moretown, Head of S. Burlington, Hosford of Waitsfield, Johnson of South Hero, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Larrabee of Danville, Lippert of Hinesburg, Martin of Springfield, Milkey of Brattleboro, Morley of Barton, Obuchowski of Rockingham, Pellett of Chester, Perry of Richford, Randall of Troy, Rodgers of Glover, Shand of Weathersfield, Sharpe of Bristol, Stevens of Shoreham, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Trombley of Grand Isle and Winters of Williamstown

Whereas, high-speed broadband access to the internet has become an essential factor for economic development, education, and personal life in twenty-first-century Vermont, comparable with rural electrification in the 1930s and construction of the interstate highway system in the 1960s, and

Whereas, this year, considerable political effort is being devoted in both the executive and legislative branches to providing every square mile of the state with broadband access as soon as possible and certainly by 2010, and

Whereas, while the larger regional and national telecommunications providers have been criticized for not providing their entire geographic territories with broadband access, especially in rural areas, the independent telephone companies have extended broadband access to nearly all of their customers, and

Whereas, the independent telephone companies are the oldest providers of communications services in the state, and most of them have existed for a century or longer and began as a small network of crackling party lines connecting a few customers fascinated with the new technology, and

Whereas, these largely locally owned companies and the percentage of their customers who now have broadband access include:  Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom (100%); Franklin Telephone Company, Inc. (100%); Shoreham Telephone Company, Inc. (100%); Topsham Telephone Company, Inc. (100%); the TDS Companies: Ludlow Telephone Company, Inc. (95%), Northfield Telephone Company, Inc. (97%), and Perkinsville Telephone Company, Inc. (84% but scheduled to rise to 92% by late in 2007); FairPoint Communications (92%), and Vermont Telephone Company (100%), now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the independent telephone companies in Vermont for their extensive installation of broadband access in their respective market areas, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of the independent telephone companies listed in this resolution.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont