Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-106.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2007 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship boys’ ice hockey team.




By Senators Condos, Flanagan, Lyons, Miller, Racine and Snelling,


Whereas, Essex High School has historically fielded some of Vermont’s most successful interscholastic boys’ ice hockey teams, and

Whereas, the Hornets entered the 2006–2007 campaign ready to continue their school’s proud tradition of 11 previous state championship titles, and

Whereas, at the regular season’s close, Essex was awarded the third seed in the Division I championship tournament, and

Whereas, the team displayed its command on the ice as it advanced to the final game against the Rutland High School Raiders, and

Whereas, Rutland was a challenging opponent as the Raiders had defeated the Hornets on two occasions during the regular season, and

Whereas, even though the Raiders had more than twice as many shots on goal as the Hornets, Essex goalie Mike Fogg responded effectively with 31 saves, and

Whereas, despite the numerous offensive attempts on the part of both squads, they played a full regulation 60 minutes of hockey, plus a first overtime period, and the contest remained scoreless, and

Whereas, at the 5:35 mark of the second overtime period, three Hornets combined their talents starting with Ben Pearl, who, from his location behind the Rutland net, sent the puck to teammate Bryan Currier, who in turn forwarded it on to Essex’s Tim Carpenter who aced the game by scoring the game’s sole goal, and

Whereas, Tim Carpenter’s starring role in the championship game was extremely special given that he was injured and sidelined during all of the 2005–2006 and half of the 2006–2007 seasons, and

Whereas, all of the Hornets, including Brandon Reagan, Jason Kale, Alex Deslandes, Tim Carpenter, Ryan Straight, Cullen O’Neil, Tyler Peckham, Josh Cain, Brendan Neal, Nick Godin, Bryan Currier, Dan King, Thomas Dvorak,  Zack Owen, Marty Vanzo, Pat Norris, Kaleb Lamos, Ben Pearl, Stevie Mone, Tyler Beauregard, Ethan Clark, Jacob Begnoche, Mike Fogg, Mike Abbott, and Russell Johnston, deserve credit for this great victory, and team managers Leah Murdock and Amanda Abbott were always helpful, and

Whereas, coach Bill O’Neil and assistant coaches Jay Parent and Nick Mone can be extremely proud of their players, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2007 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship boys’ ice hockey team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bill O’Neil at Essex High School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont