Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-52.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Champlain Valley Union (CVU) High School Redhawks Division I championship girls’ cross country team.


By Senators Condos, Flanagan, Lyons, Miller, Racine and Snelling,

     Whereas, after a five-day delay due to inclement weather, the competitors in the 2006 girls’ cross country championship meet were finally able to proceed to the starting line at the Thetford Academy course, and

Whereas, the Division I championship race was hardly a contest, as the CVU Redhawks once again demonstrated the extent of their speed and stamina, and

Whereas, the Redhawks amassed the lowest total score, the key to a cross country victory, with only 23 points compared to their nearest competitor’s final tally of 110, and

Whereas, the CVU squad led the field as Redhawk Hannah Meier earned the individual first place honors with a time of 20:31, and

Whereas, Hannah Meier was certainly not the only CVU standout runner as seven of the top 15 finishers were her classmates, including Kelsey Barton who came in third at 21:13 and Emily Olsen who completed the course fourth at 21:30, and

Whereas, the CVU girls proved their worth on a larger regional scale when they captured third place in the New England championship track meet that took place on November 11, and

Whereas, the three top finishers at the Thetford Academy competition are just part of an outstanding team of running Redhawks that also consists of Ali Barnes, Caroline Carpenter, Virginia Farley, Danika Frisbie, Kendall Frost, and Sydney McEwen, and

Whereas, head coach Scott Bliss and his able assistant coaches Kasie Enman, Cory Coffey, and Jessica Cover trained their students to be both skillful runners and good sportswomen, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Champlain Valley Union (CVU) High School Redhawks Division I championship girls’ cross country team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Scott Bliss at Champlain Valley Union High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont