Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-37.  Senate concurrent resolution congratulating the Vermont Mountaineers on winning the 2006 New England Collegiate Baseball League championship.


By Senators Doyle, Cummings and Scott,

By Representatives Brooks of Montpelier and Kitzmiller of Montpelier,

Whereas, the Vermont Mountaineers of the New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL) played before enthusiastic and capacity crowds at Montpelier Recreation Field throughout the team’s thrilling 2006 season, and

Whereas, the Mountaineers’ games were replete with superb batting and fielding, and most importantly numerous victories, that climaxed with the Mountaineers capturing their first NECBL championship, and

Whereas, the team’s post-season play was hard-hitting, well executed, and exciting to watch as the Mountaineers prevailed at each level of competition, and

Whereas, in the Northern Division finals, the Mountaineers met the challenge of the Sanford, Maine, Mariners, winning the first game in the best of three series 2-1, and

Whereas, the decisive Northern Division game will be long remembered as the teams were tied at 2-2 in the seventh when the game was suspended due to torrential rain and an excessively soggy field, and

Whereas, the overnight break proved beneficial to the Mountaineers who survived the Mariners’ loading the bases in the top of the ninth, and then repeated the same feat in the inning’s second half with greater success when Mountaineer, and Rutland native, Kyle Massie hit a sacrifice fly that enabled teammate Curt Smith to score the winning run and send the Mountaineers into the league championship series, and

Whereas, their Southern Division opponents, the Torrington, Connecticut Twisters, proved no match for the Mountaineers, who swept the decisive best of three series with back-to-back 4-3 and 4-1 victories which included a four‑run fifth inning in the concluding game that sealed the Mountaineers league championship title, and

Whereas, individual Mountaineers earned special NECBL honors, including: Mark Murray as top relief pitcher, Chris Friedrich as rookie of the year, Curt Smith as defensive player of the year, and Robbie Minor as the sportsmanship award recipient, and

Whereas, four Mountaineers, catcher Zach Zaneski, shortstop Robbie Minor, third baseman Curt Smith and starting pitcher Joe Esposito were named to the all-league first team, and teammates second baseman Troy Krider and pitcher Chris Friedrich were designated as members of the second all‑league team, and

Whereas, the leadership of team manager John Russo and coaches Brent Heaberlin, Douglas Walter, Troy Moock and Kevin Major provided the guidance the Mountaineers required to win the 2006 NECBL championship and compile an impressive 33-16 2006 record, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Vermont Mountaineers on winning the 2006 New England Collegiate Baseball League championship, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the Vermont Mountaineers president Eddie Walbridge and team manager John Russo.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont