Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-17.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Danville Indians Division IV championship baseball team.


Offered by: Representative Larrabee of Danville

Offered by: Senators Coppenrath and Kitchel

Whereas, after an exciting Division IV championship season in 2005, the Danville Indians returned to the baseball diamond in 2006 in quest of an equally successive follow-up year, and

Whereas, throughout the spring, the Indians’ bats hit the ball hard, caught the errant flies that had run-scoring potential, and mastered the skills that earned them a place in the 2006 Division IV championship game at Centennial Field in Burlington, and

Whereas, Danville’s command of the Centennial Field game never faltered as the first-seeded Blue Mountain Union High School Bucks tried unsuccessfully to pull ahead of the Indians, and

Whereas, from the game’s opening pitch, the first-at-bat Danville team took advantage of weaknesses in the Bucks’ defensive play as the Indians scored their opening run on the basis of a walk and two Blue Mountain errors, and

Whereas, the second Danville run followed almost immediately and resulted in part from the alertness of Indian Jesse Murray who stole second base when it was left unguarded, and

Whereas, having scored two runs in the first inning without a base hit, the Indians settled in to protect their lead but suffered a scary fourth inning when Blue Mountain scored its lone run of the game, and

Whereas, seeking to build a more substantial advantage on the scoreboard, Danville was delighted to add two runs in the seventh after loading the bases with a single and two walks that enabled two of the team’s members to cross home plate in the midst of a suicide squeeze play, and

Whereas, when the final player was retired, the Danville Indians were the proud owners of a second consecutive Division IV baseball championship title to which every team member, including Brandon Lumbra, Justin Chamberlin, Stone Conroy, Chris Elliott, Julian Kempton, Ian Callahan, Asa White, James Kuligoski, Jordan White, Richie Benoit, Jesse Murray, Logan Calkins, and Jared White, contributed his talent and skill, and

Whereas, coach David Chamberlin and assistant coach Randell McGraph  inspired the team to strive to do its very best, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Danville Indians Division IV championship baseball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to David Chamberlin at the Danville School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont