Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-16.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 Danville School Indians Division IV championship boys’ soccer team.


Offered by: Representative Larrabee of Danville

Offered by: Senators Coppenrath and Kitchel

Whereas, the Danville School Indians boys high school soccer team had not won a state interscholastic soccer title since 1987, and

Whereas, the 2006 team was comprised of confident young athletes who brought a new spark of excitement to the soccer games played on the Danville field, and

Whereas, the Indians’ season-long perseverance on the soccer field earned them the first seed in the 2006 Division IV playoffs and ultimately a berth in the championship game at U-32 High School where the Indians faced the third–seeded Sharon Academy Phoenix, and

Whereas, Danville sought the earliest possible opportunity to score a goal and availed itself of that opening when Danville’s Julian Kempton brought the ball through his defender and forwarded it to teammate Jordan White who completed the offensive drive with a solid kick that sent the ball into the goal zone, and

Whereas, for the balance of the game, the key word was “defense” as each team prevented the other from scoring another goal, despite several commendable offensive runs, and

Whereas, the Danville lineman Derek Morrison and goalie Bruce Melendy made spectacular and pivotal saves on more than one occasion, and

Whereas, when the time on the clock indicated the game was over, the Indians were the delighted winners of the 2006 Division IV boys’ soccer championship, and

Whereas, the combined effort of Danville team members Thomas Blackmore, Weston Brisco, Justin Chamberlin, Adrian Duckett, Julian Kempton, D.J. McLaughlin, Derek Morrison, Greg Morrison, Jesse Murray, David Trudeau, Jordan White, Logan Calkins, Doug DeMasi, Derek Fenoff, Bruce Melendy, Evan Rapoza, Jared White, Richard Benoit, Andre Coutu, Christopher Elliott, James Kuligoski, Andrew Simpson, Christopher Robinson, Mikael Willis, Michael Newman, Patrick Rainville, Nathan Woods, and Patrick Young made this Division IV championship a reality, and

Whereas, head coach Steve Genco and assistant coach Kirt Adams were outstanding instructors and mentors for the athletes throughout the season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 Danville School Indians Division IV championship boys’ soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Steve Genco at the Danville School.

Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont