Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-8.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 U-32 Division IV championship football team.


Offered by:  Representatives Klein of East Montpelier, Ancel of Calais, McDonald of Berlin and Peltz of Woodbury

Offered by: Senators Cummings, Doyle and Scott

Whereas, the 2006 Division IV high school football championship game will be remembered as a sporting event destined for prominence in the history of interscholastic sports in Vermont, and

Whereas, seldom has a team displayed such overwhelming offensive and defensive command on the field as did the U-32 Raiders during its amazing 62–0 triumph over its worthy opponent, the Mount Mansfield Union High School Cougars, and

Whereas, the entire evening was filled with noteworthy U-32 team and personal accomplishments, and

Whereas, the leadership of U-32 quarterback Ethan Sylvain proved essential as he threw four touchdown passes, two each to Raiders Rob Keene and Marcus Hass, and in addition, Ethan and teammates Gordon Matheson and EJ Salas also crossed the goal line for touchdown carries, and

Whereas, the first quarter concluded with the Raiders on top 22–0 following a 49-yard Sylvain-to-Hass touchdown pass, and

Whereas, by the halftime break’s arrival, U-32’s lead had increased to 42-0, and the Washington County players added another 20 points before the final whistle blew, and

Whereas, the Raiders’ strong defensive strength limited the Cougars to a 44-yard gain and a mere two first downs, and

Whereas, the U-32 squad, consisting of players Gordon Matheson, Luke Hadden, Tim Lynch, Tucker Laclair, Ethan Sylvain, EJ Salas, Todd Murphy, Kyle Lawson, Pat Sikora, Cody Farrell, Dustin Jones, Scott Matheson, MJ Rus, Marc Trollinger, Alex Palana, Phil Hall, Colby Martel, Jake McArdle, Bob Fitch, Ryan Blouin, Chayton Boucher, Aaron Estivill, Brennan Jewett, Andrew Cremins, Silas Dowen, Connor Blouin, Josh Mugford, Robert Keene, Marcus Hass, and Dylan Benway, played a caliber of football that could not be surpassed, and

Whereas, head coach Mike Law and assistant coaches Neil Martel, Pat Sikora, Erik Bennett, and Jim Blouin provided valuable guidance all season long, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 U-32 Division IV championship football team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mike Law at U-32 High School in East Montpelier. 


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont