Download this document in MS Word format

AutoFill Template

NO. R-5.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2006 U-32 Raiders Division II championship boys’ soccer team.


Offered by:  Representatives Klein of East Montpelier, Ancel of Calais, McDonald of Berlin, and Peltz of Woodbury

Offered by: Senators Cummings, Doyle and Scott

Whereas, the U-32 Raiders boys soccer team entered the 2006 Division II championship game against the Milton Yellowjackets prepared to defend its 2005 title and extend its two-year 25 consecutive game winning streak, and  

Whereas, the Yellowjackets, who came to the final contest with an impressive 2006 record of 14–2–1, reminded the Raiders that championships are earned and not awarded based on pregame prognostications, and

Whereas, when the first half of play had concluded, the defending champions were trailing 1–0, and

Whereas, recognizing that the entire season now rested on the next 40 minutes, or so they assumed, the Raiders commenced the second half with a determination to succeed, and

Whereas, with the clock ticking downward and with less than 16 minutes of regulation time remaining, U-32’s Anders Ostrum’s left-side corner kick hit senior teammate Dan Whitney, who then executed a successful slow-header kick, resulting in the first Raider goal, and

Whereas, despite two more Yellowjacket near-scoring successes and U-32’s almost winning the game during the final moments of regulation play, the teams remained tied 1–1 at the second half’s conclusion, and

Whereas, with less than one minute left in the initial eight-minute overtime period, Anders Ostrum kicked the ball to fellow Raider Eric Root, who then deftly maneuvered around a large contingent of Yellowjackets to send the ball into the net for the winning goal and a second consecutive U-32 championship, and

Whereas, the entire U-32 squad, including Sam Amses, Koby Dunkling,  Dan Whitney, Silas Chickering-Ayers, Jordan Hepburn, Elias Nogueira, Graham Sorenson, Cyrus Carey, Eric Root, Griffin Labbance, Chet Larrow, Anders Ostrum, Cody Cacicio, Mike Moran, Caleb Brabant, Chris Wong, and Will Berry, deserves special recognition, and

Whereas, head coach Steve Towne and assistant coach Joe Ferrada, provided both technical expertise and encouragement throughout the 2006 soccer campaign, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2006 U-32 Raiders Division II championship boys’ soccer team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Steve Towne at U-32 High School.


Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont