Download this document in MS Word format
ACT OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY 2007-2008

AutoFill Template

NO. 151.  AN ACT RELATING TO A LICENSE TO STORE AND SHIP WINE .

(S.313)

It is hereby enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont:

Sec. 1.  7 V.S.A. § 68 is added to read:

§ 68.  VINOUS BEVERAGE STORAGE AND SHIPPING LICENSE

The liquor control board may grant to a person who operates a climate-controlled storage facility in which vinous beverages owned by another person are stored for a fee a license that allows the licensee to store and transport vinous beverages on which all applicable taxes already have been paid.  A vinous beverage storage facility may also accept shipments from any licensed in-state or out-of-state vinous manufacturer that has an in-state or out‑of‑state consumer shipping license pursuant to section 66 of this title.  Vinous beverages stored may be transported only for shipment to the owner of the beverages or to another licensed vinous beverage storage facility, and the beverages shall be shipped only by common carrier in compliance with subsection 66(f) of this title.  The licensee shall pay a fee pursuant to subdivision 231(a)(20) of this title.   A license under this section shall be issued pursuant to rules adopted by the board.  A person granted a license pursuant to this section may not sell or resell any vinous beverages stored at the storage facility. 


Sec. 2.  7 V.S.A. § 64(b) is amended to read:

(b)  Except as provided in section 66 sections 66 and 68 of this title, all malt or vinous beverages, or both, imported or transported into this state shall be imported or transported by and through a wholesale dealer holding a wholesale dealer's license issued by the liquor control board.  A person importing or transporting or causing to be imported or transported into this state any malt or vinous beverages, or both, shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.  Provided, however, a person may import or transport not more than six gallons of malt or vinous beverages, or both, into this state in his or her own private vehicle or in his or her actual possession at the time of importation without permit providing it is not for resale.

Sec. 3.  7 V.S.A. § 66(f) is amended to read:

(f)  A common carrier shall not deliver vinous beverages until it has complied with the training provisions in subsections 239(a) and (b) of this title and been certified by the department of liquor control.  No employee of a certified common carrier may deliver vinous beverages until that employee completes the training provisions in subsection 239(c) of this title.  A common carrier shall deliver only vinous beverages that have been shipped by the holder of a license issued under this section or a vinous beverage storage license issued under section 68 of this title.


Sec. 4.  7 V.S.A. § 231(a)(20) is added to read:

(a)  The following fees shall be paid:

* * *

(20)  For a vinous beverages storage license, $200.00 per year.

Sec. 5.  EFFECTIVE DATE

     This act shall take effect upon passage.

Approved:  May 19, 2008



Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont


www.leg.state.vt.us