Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  169

House concurrent resolution commemorating the 100th anniversary of the establishment of the Daughters of the Charity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus religious order in the United States

Offered by:  Representatives Marcotte of Coventry, Adams of Hartland, Allaire of Rutland City, Allard of St. Albans Town, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of S. Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Barnard of Richmond, Bartlett of Dover, Bohi of Hartford, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Brennan of Colchester, Brooks of Montpelier, Canfield of Fair Haven, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clarkson of Woodstock, Condon of Colchester, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Corcoran of Bennington, Cross of Winooski, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster, DePoy of Rutland City, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Dowland of Holland, Dunsmore of Georgia, Emmons of Springfield, Endres of Milton, Errecart of Shelburne, Evans of Essex, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Flory of Pittsford, Frank of Underhill, French of Randolph, Gervais of Enosburg, Grad of Moretown, Green of Berlin, Haas of Rochester, Head of S. Burlington, Heath of Westford, Hosford of Waitsfield, Houston of Ferrisburgh, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hube of Londonderry, Hudson of Lyndon, Hunt of Essex, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Johnson of South Hero, Johnson of Canaan, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Kilmartin of Newport City, Kiss of Burlington, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Komline of Dorset, Krawczyk of Bennington, Larocque of Barnet, Larrabee of Danville, LaVoie of Swanton, Lawrence of Lyndon, Leriche of Hardwick, Livingston of Manchester, Lorber of Burlington, Louras of Rutland City, Malcolm of Pawlet, Marek of Newfane, Marron of Stowe, Martin of Springfield, Martin of Wolcott, Masland of Thetford, McAllister of Highgate, McFaun of Barre Town, Metzger of Milton, Milkey of Brattleboro, Minter of Waterbury, Molloy of Arlington, Monti of Barre City, Morley of Barton, Morrissey of Bennington, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Niquette of Colchester, Nitka of Ludlow, Obuchowski of Rockingham, O’Donnell of Vernon, Orr of Charlotte, Otterman of Topsham, Parent of St. Albans City, Partridge of Windham, Peaslee of Guildhall, Perry of Richford, Peterson of Williston, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of S. Burlington, Randall of Troy, Reese of Pomfret, Rodgers of Glover, Rusten of Halifax, Schiavone of Shelburne, Seibert of Norwich, Shand of Weathersfield, Shaw of Derby, Smith of New Haven, Smith of Morristown, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Sweaney of Windsor, Tracy of Burlington, Trombley of Grand Isle, Valliere of Barre City, Westman of Cambridge, Winters of Swanton, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington, Young of Orwell and Zuckerman of Burlington

Whereas, on October 24, 1905, the Daughters of the Charity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus religious order, which was established originally in France, began its American branch in Newport, and

Whereas, the four sisters who comprised the first American order included Sister Aline de St. Laurent (the leader of the sisters), Sister Gerard Magella, Sister St. Edgar, and Sister St. Fernand, and

Whereas, the Daughters of the Charity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is a teaching order and established two schools in the United States, one in Newport in 1905 and a second in Champlain, New York in 1906, and

Whereas, for many decades thereafter, the order continued to staff and operate each of these Sacred Heart Schools which were major centers of elementary and secondary education in their communities, and

Whereas, although the Daughters of the Charity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus concluded its administrative role at each of the schools, the order maintains a teaching presence in Newport, and the religious spirit and educational commitment on which they were established continues, and

Whereas, in addition to teaching, members of the order are engaged in pastoral assignments in states throughout the Northeast, and

Whereas, under the leadership of the Sister Provincial, Sister Monique Gagne, the order, whose provincial house is now located in Littleton, New Hampshire, remains dedicated to the religious mission that brought it to the United States shores a century ago, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly commemorates the 100th anniversary of the establishment of the Daughters of the Charity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus religious order in the United States, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Sister Monique Gagne, Sister Provincial, at the Mount Sacred Heart Provincial House in Littleton, New Hampshire.







Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont