Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  99

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2005 Essex High Hornets’ Division I championship and nationally acclaimed cheerleading team

Offered by:  Representatives Myers of Essex, Evans of Essex, Heath of Westford, Hunt of Essex, Jerman of Essex, Allard of St. Albans Town, Barnard of Richmond, Clark of Vergennes, Donaghy of Poultney, Dunsmore of Georgia, Endres of Milton, Flory of Pittsford, Larocque of Barnet, Lorber of Burlington, Molloy of Arlington, Morrissey of Bennington, Niquette of Colchester, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Rodgers of Glover, Sharpe of Bristol, Smith of New Haven, Sunderland of Rutland Town and Winters of Swanton

Whereas, cheerleading and Essex High School have become synonymous during the last two decades as the Hornets have commanded the stage as the state’s premier Division I cheerleading team, and

Whereas, 2005 marked a major milestone in the Hornets’ remarkable cheerleading saga as they traveled to Florida the week before the state championship tournament to participate in the national high school cheerleading championship, and

Whereas, this much‑anticipated southern excursion proved to be a sojourn worth the enormous preparatory effort as Essex clinched third place honors, truly a tribute to the program’s quality of training and the participating students’ dedication to excellence, and

Whereas, upon returning from their magnificent national triumph, these now nationally recognized cheerleaders needed to demonstrate their determination to defend the Division I title, and

Whereas, when the championship day arrived, the Hornets were in top form, fully familiar with their choreography, as they presented a polished routine which thrilled the crowd, and

Whereas, when the competition had concluded, the Hornets’ phenomenal record of winning state cheerleading championships was extended as they defeated the Rutland High School Raiders, 194-184, giving Essex its 17th championship crown in the last 20 years, and

Whereas, this year’s Essex roster, including Jordan Avery, Kim Cole, Heather Correia, Thomas Correia, Cami Corsaro, McKinley Fagan, Erin Hoehl, Lindsay Keppler, Courtney Kilcollins, Mindi Lawrence, Melissa Lovejoy, Liz Magoon, Ryan Morgan, Hannah Morrett, Alison O’Leary, Kailee Orr, Angel Perkins, Brittany Picard, Meagan Plante, Emily Tailer, and Jacque Williams, extended the Hornets’ cheerleading reputation far beyond Vermont’s borders, and

Whereas, the Essex High School cheerleading program owes much of its success to Coach Lissa McDonald, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2005 Essex High Hornets’ Division I championship and nationally acclaimed cheerleading team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Lissa McDonald at Essex High School.



____________________________              Attested to:

Gaye R. Symington

Speaker of the House


____________________________              ____________________________

Brian E. Dubie                                             Donald G. Milne

President of the Senate                              Clerk, House of Representatives       




Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont