Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  88

     House concurrent resolution congratulating the two-year college All Vermont Academic Team

     Offered by: Representatives Obuchowski of Rockingham, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of  Westminster and Partridge of Windham

Whereas, outstanding students attend two-year colleges and many then matriculate into four-year degree programs at other institutions of higher education, and

Whereas, annually, Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, with financial support from the Coca-Cola company and the USA Today newspaper, organizes the All USA Academic Team, a showcase of outstanding two-year college students throughout the country, and

Whereas, as a first step in developing the All USA Academic Team, the presidents of a state’s two-year colleges nominate two students from their respective schools, and

Whereas, these student nominees comprise the membership of an individual state’s All Academic Team, and

Whereas, from among the members of the state All Academic Teams, national judges then select the All USA Academic Team, and

Whereas, although individual Vermont colleges have participated in the All USA Academic Team competition in prior years, an official All Vermont Academic team had not been previously established, and

Whereas, as an opportunity to honor the academic excellence of Vermont’s top two-year college students, and to increase the scholarship possibilities for these students at four-year colleges in Vermont, Dr. Lynda J. Katz, President of Landmark College, and David W. Mulholland, who, with Dr. Katz, serves as the faculty coadvisor for Landmark College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, and the Landmark College Student Government Association have established the first official All Vermont Academic Team, and

Whereas, the members of the first Vermont All Academic Team and their home colleges are Sara Wolfson and Tucker Bond-Watts of Landmark College, and Nicole A. Seligson and Marie L. Gray from the Community College of Vermont, and

Whereas, the establishment of the All Vermont Academic Team adds an exciting new element for Vermont’s two-year colleges who participate in the All America Academic Team program, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the members of the first Vermont All Academic Team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each member of the All Vermont Academic Team; to Rod Risley, Executive Director of Phi Theta Kappa; and to Vermont Community College; and three copies to Landmark College.



____________________________              Attested to:

Gaye R. Symington

Speaker of the House


____________________________              ____________________________

Brian E. Dubie                                             Donald G. Milne

President of the Senate                              Clerk, House of Representatives       





Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont