Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R.  45

House concurrent resolution congratulating Ralph Jackman on his 50th anniversary as Vergennes Fire Chief

Offered by:  Representatives Clark of Vergennes, Houston of Ferrisburgh, Adams of Hartland, Allaire of Rutland City, Allard of St. Albans Town, Ancel of Calais, Aswad of Burlington, Audette of S. Burlington, Baker of West Rutland, Bartlett of Dover, Bohi of Hartford, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Brennan of Colchester, Brooks of Montpelier, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chen of Mendon, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clarkson of Woodstock, Condon of Colchester, Cross of Winooski, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster, DePoy of Rutland City, Donaghy of Poultney, Donovan of Burlington, Endres of Milton, Errecart of Shelburne, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Flory of Pittsford, Frank of Underhill, Haas of Rochester, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hube of Londonderry, Hutchinson of Randolph, Jerman of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Johnson of South Hero, Johnson of Canaan, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Kilmartin of Newport City, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Komline of Dorset, Kupersmith of S. Burlington, Larocque of Barnet, Larrabee of Danville, Livingston of Manchester, Lorber of Burlington, Louras of Rutland City, Maier of Middlebury, Marcotte of Coventry, Marek of Newfane, Marron of Stowe, McAllister of Highgate, McCullough of Williston, McLaughlin of Royalton, Metzger of Milton, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Elmore, Molloy of Arlington, Morrissey of Bennington, Myers of Essex, Niquette of Colchester, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, Otterman of Topsham, Parent of St. Albans City, Partridge of Windham, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of S. Burlington, Randall of Troy, Reese of Pomfret, Rodgers of Glover, Rusten of Halifax, Schiavone of Shelburne, Smith of New Haven, Smith of Morristown, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Sweaney of Windsor, Valliere of Barre City, Winters of Swanton, Winters of Williamstown, Wright of Burlington and Young of Orwell

Whereas, one of the nation’s longest serving fire chiefs is Ralph Jackman of Vergennes, and

Whereas, he joined the all‑volunteer Vergennes Fire Department in 1946 when he was in his early 20s, and in 1954, at age 30, he was named the city’s chief firefighter, and

Whereas, for half a century, Chief Jackman has led the department in Addison County’s only city with dedication and pride, and

Whereas, during his tenure, the department has modernized its facilities and equipment, and

Whereas, these improvements have included the opening of a spacious downtown fire station and the purchase of many new firefighting vehicles, tripling the number in the department’s inventory, and

Whereas, this physical modernization has paralleled the doubling of the number of firefighters due in large measure to Chief Jackman’s recruiting efforts, and

Whereas, although Chief Jackman has celebrated his 80th birthday, and no longer aims hoses at flames or rescues victims, he remains a vibrant and active chief who manages the department’s administrative responsibilities and is still present on the scene when an alarm sounds, and

Whereas, on Saturday, December 4, 2004, approximately 200 well‑wishers, including Governor Jim Douglas and Vergennes Mayor Kitty Oxholm, honored Chief Jackman’s extraordinary public service at a surprise party, and

Whereas, the residents of Vergennes and the surrounding communities have been fortunate that the city has such a capable and effective fire chief, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the city of Vergennes’ esteemed fire chief Ralph Jackman on the 50th anniversary of his assuming this important leadership post and be it further

Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Chief Ralph Jackman at the Vergennes Fire Department and to the Vergennes city clerk.  



____________________________              Attested to:

Gaye R. Symington

Speaker of the House


____________________________              ____________________________

Brian E. Dubie                                             Donald G. Milne

President of the Senate                              Clerk, House of Representatives       




Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont