Download this document in MS Word format


State of Vermont

House of Representatives

Montpelier, Vermont

Joint Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 9

House concurrent resolution congratulating Veterans of Foreign War (V.F.W.) Post 8702 of Bellows Falls on its designation as the organization’s only 2004 community service award winner in Vermont

Offered by:  Representatives Obuchowski of Rockingham and Partridge of Windham

Whereas, there are 9,200 Veterans of Foreign War Posts throughout the United States, and

Whereas, in 2004, only 72 posts were honored as recipients of community service awards from the national V.F.W., and

Whereas, in Vermont, the sole winner of a V.F.W. Community Service Award was Post 8702 in Bellows Falls, and

Whereas, this Windham County post accrued more voluntary community service hours than any other V.F.W. post in the state, and

Whereas, the activities that provided the basis for Post 8702’s award included deliveries for the Meals on Wheels program and greeting tourists at a welcome center, and

Whereas, other initiatives have entailed post members dedicating their time at the local recycling center and driving individuals to medical appointments, and

Whereas, the energetic dedication of the Post 8702 membership is especially noteworthy as the average age is among the highest of all the V.F.W. posts in Vermont, and 

Whereas, the members who helped Post 8702 achieve this special honor include Hank Anderson, Tony Kandrotos, Ira Green, Junior-Vice Commander Franklin Perry, and Post Commander Lawrence Rayno, and

Whereas, the presentation to the post included a plaque, a trophy, and a large colorful road sign proclaiming Bellows Falls as the post’s home that will be displayed at a yet‑to‑be determined roadside site, and

Whereas, the members of V.F.W. Post 8702 perform these useful community roles without any thought of recognition or praise, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 8702 in Bellows Falls on its designation as the organization’s only 2004 community service award winner in Vermont, and be it further



Resolved:  That the secretary of state be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Lawrence Rayno in Bellows Falls.


____________________________              Attested to:

Gaye R. Symington

Speaker of the House


____________________________              ____________________________

Brian E. Dubie                                             Donald G. Milne

President of the Senate                              Clerk, House of Representatives       




Published by:

The Vermont General Assembly
115 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont